Skip to content

The Second Time Around

October 26, 2011

Since running my first half marathon last fall, Team in Training has sent me tons of notices about upcoming races and training groups meeting in my area. I kept tossing them because training for and running another race hadn’t exactly been on the forefront of my mind. In fact, I had almost no desire to train for another race in the near future.

Then, last week, I got a postcard from Team in Training advertising this bad boy:

source

And, much to my surprise, I felt a sudden jolt of excitement and motivation. Last night, I bit the bullet and registered for the half marathon.

Yikes.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

  • I chose not to train with a Team this time around. I feel like I can handle the training on my own this time, and I’m not quite ready to put myself out there to raise such a large amount of money again. I definitely want to train with the Team again in the future. Maybe for the Nike Women’s Half?
  • I thought the DC course would be mostly flat. Then I looked up the potential course/course elevation today, and it looks like miles 6-9 are basically straight up hill. I figure I ran more hills than that during the Baltimore course, so it can’t be all bad! Much of it is flat, and even better, much of it is downhill.
  • Do they have half marathons that are totally downhill? If so, where do I sign?
  • I’m psyched to run a Rock ‘N Roll race. From what I hear, the atmosphere is awesome and very motivating (something I needed during my first half for, oh, a good 3/4 of the race).
  • I love the idea of running through the National Mall. Cool, scenic, and different. At least I’ll be entertained!
  • The race is in March. This could mean that race day conditions could range from snowing to the high ’60s. I’m aiming for anything other than snow.
  • The fact that the race is in March also means that I’ll be doing the bulk of my heavy training during January and February. I did the bulk of my heavy training for Baltimore in July and August. I’m not sure what will be worse: long runs in Maryland summer heat or winter freezes. At least there’s always the treadmill?
  • I’m embarrassingly excited to get another medal. And swag.
  • My workouts from now until March will be dictated by my training schedule. I loved the idea of this at the beginning of training for my last race (no guesswork, no excuses), but it got REALLY old toward the end (too monotonous, kind of exhausting, both mentally and physically). I’m hoping that going into this schedule knowing what to expect will at least help with the mental part of it.
  • I would like to PR in this race, but it’s not the end of the world. I was really proud of my Baltimore time (2:17:58), so I’d be happy to beat it even by two or three minutes.
  • I am not ready to deal with the insatiable hunger that popped up in the middle of training for the last race. I was so hungry, all the time—it got a little out of control. Hopefully this time around, I can keep it under wraps a little better. Fun chub is all well and good, but half marathon chub on top of fun chub might get a little excessive.
  • I don’t want this blog to turn into a half marathon training blog, but I will occasionally check in and report on my progress. I kept up a Team in Training blog last time, just to let friends and family know how I was doing, and writing about my long runs was surprisingly therapeutic. It allowed me to track my triumphs and my struggles, and it was cool to be able to look back at old posts and see how far I’d come. I’d love to do the same here the second time around.

Are you training for any races? Are there any that you’d love to run in the future?

The Nike Half and the Disney Princess Half are on my bucket list!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 4:28 pm

    i have this same postcard, from TNT, on my fridge….my bf and i are doing our 1st 1/2 marathon in april together (Ocean City), but i still haven’t tossed this postcard away, ha. looking forward to reading about your training! i def want to do a Rock & Roll race in the future!

  2. October 30, 2011 8:19 am

    Husband wants me to do a 100 mile bike ride from Philly to the Jersey shore to honor fallen officers of the Philadelphia Police Department. His cousin did it last year and made it (who barely trains), so I think I could do it. The downside? I don’t own a bike…nor do I have anywhere to store it…nor do I want to ride outside anywhere that isn’t the beach due to bugs, snakes, deer, and people. LOL…not too much to ask, right?

    • October 30, 2011 8:55 am

      You could totally do it! It’s like spin class, right? ; )

      And I feel like I now have the same exact list when considering training for any race: “Could it be the perfect training weather for the whole four months that I’m training? And could the course be entirely flat and/or downhill? And could race day please be about 62 degrees and slightly overcast? And could a pretty fairy carry me for 12 of the 13 miles, and I can sprint the last one?”

      Sad, but true.

  3. October 30, 2011 1:15 pm

    I’m currently training for an easy 10K, but I seriously need to get a full marathon under my belt.

    I totally understand that sudden surge of increased hunger during training. It’s crazy!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Second Half: Final Thoughts « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

