Skip to content

Notes From The Week

December 11, 2011
  • According to my doctor, it’s stress that’s causing my hair to slowly fall out. The upside to this? I can go on vacation with Nick guilt-free this April. Let’s consider it a medical treatment, shall we?
  • Some of my students are better fiction writers than I am. I don’t feel jealous about this at all; I’m kind of just in awe of their talent. I love the days when I realize I have just as much to learn from them as they do from me. Just an extra rewarding perk of the job.
  • Ghirardelli brownies made from a boxed mix trump any brownies I’ve ever made from scratch.

  • At a certain point, even my overachieving, type-A personality falls victim to a serious case of “end-of-the-semester”-itis. I have a final paper due tomorrow and a final exam on Tuesday. For the sake of my GPA, it is a very, very good thing that the end is in sight, for I am pretty much past the point of caring.
  • One night you’ll be talking to your boyfriend about how you’ve unintentionally been eating high vegetarian lately (and he’ll note that he’s been doing the same). The next morning, you’ll wake up craving bacon. It happens!

(Eggs, spinach, goat cheese, turkey bacon, and Red Hot on a whole wheat English muffin. So. Freaking. Good).

  • Oatmeal is the ultimate winter breakfast. Or dinner. Especially when you have absolutely no other food left in your fridge.

(Oats, banana, pumpkin, cottage cheese, PB)

  • I’m pretty sure dairy is making me break out. I am completely unwilling to give up cheese or my morning Greek yogurt breakfast. Priorities, right?
  • Running long distances takes 1/4 physical commitment and 3/4 mental commitment, at least in my little world. If I have to run four miles, I hit a mental block around mile 2.5. If I have to run six miles, that block comes at mile four, and so on. Once I tell myself to shut up and just push forward, I end up pleasantly surprising myself.
  • I feel totally out of running shape, but the numbers are proving otherwise: I successfully ran six miles (in the freezing cold!) on Saturday, staying within my 2010 half-marathon pace. Yes, I’d like to PR at the DC race in March, but I still have three months to build up speed. For now, I’m actually pretty happy with where I’m at.
  • Strength training makes me feel like a beast (in a good way). I need to get on board with a serious strength plan and stick to it.
  • I have a stack of books that I am going to devour over Christmas break. All I want to do for those ten days is sit in bed with endless cups of tea and just plow through all of the novels I’ve been pushing to the side since September. Boring? For some. For me, it will be heavenly.

Any fun lessons you’ve taken away from this week?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2011 5:37 pm

    I had about a billion similarities with you on this post. It seems we’re living parallel lives :P

    I’ve been eating mostly vegetarian too, but then the other day, my lentil soup was sooooo not what I wanted at lunch, so I promptly went to the mall and got a nice juicy Five Guys burger. (Your breakfast sandwich looked to die for.)

    I tried to cut back on my dairy intake recently. I lasted about two weeks. This week I bought two packages of shredded cheese (parm and mexican) to douse my veggie food in as well as a ton of yogurt. I surrender. Though I did buy almond milk instead of dairy. That’s as far as I’m willing to go. I must have cheese.

    I too have a stack of books that I’ve been hoarding since my grad class started. It’s so hard to decide where to begin! Please review what you read (not that I need more recommendations!)

    • December 11, 2011 5:56 pm

      Sometimes you just need meat. And cheese. I’m realizing there’s no shame in that whatsoever!

      You MUST read the Game of Thrones series. Really, you would LOVE it!

  2. December 11, 2011 7:26 pm

    This week I learned that I LOVE how the holidays bring my family together… and that I love simple things like watching Christmas movies with the hubby and going for hot chocolate dates. :)

    • December 11, 2011 7:33 pm

      As much as I moan about the winter (and often about the holiday season), you’re right: there’s absolutely nothing wrong with hot cocoa and cheesy Xmas movies! Glad you’re enjoying it ; )

  3. December 12, 2011 6:48 am

    I’m worried about this “hair falling out” stuff. That’s not good…

    Yes, I’m turning into Mother Hen.

    Ghirardelli brownies are Heaven on Earth…have you ever had their milkshakes? We had them down in Disney and had to go back 3 or 4 more times. That’s a big deal for Husband who rarely falls of the Healthy Wagon.

    Strength training is the bomb…after all, what will hold our skin up when we get old? Muscles.

    • December 12, 2011 7:19 pm

      Yeah, it’s probably not good. We’ll see how much grows back over Xmas break. The good news is I have a LOT of hair to spare ; )

      I think I’ve had the milkshakes once, also in Disney. Their ice cream sandwiches were so good, I died a little.

      Good pt about the strength training—do you follow a plan? I’m thinking about P90x or The New Rules of Lifting for Women…

  4. December 19, 2011 6:34 pm

    ooh looks like I have a new brownie mix to try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

