Skip to content

Simple Summer Dinner

July 11, 2013

I love summer for so many reasons: longer days, warmer weather, time off from school to catch up on my running list of books to read (and, yes, also to catch up on my sleep!)

I also love that I have a little extra time on my hands, not just to run errands or catch up on my doctor’s appointments or even sit by the pool, but also because, with that extra time in my day, cooking dinner no longer feels like a hassle. As much as I love cooking and experimenting with new foods and recipes, during the school year I tend to fly on autopilot when it comes to getting dinner on the table. I find three or four meals that I know I can cook in under thirty minutes, and I keep them in rotation until the thought of eating [insert standard meal here] is repulsive.

Living with Nick has also been good motivation for me to try new meals. Although I could probably survive on the same chicken stir fry for three weeks straight, I know he probably couldn’t (or wouldn’t!) It’s been fun to brainstorm meal ideas together, or to go grocery shopping and just totally wing it with whatever looks good.

Which is exactly what we did with dinner last night:

asparagus and tilapia

When we were at Wegmans over the weekend, we picked up some tilapia on sale, figuring we needed a break from chicken for a week. I also picked up some asparagus, figuring we’d just bake it with oil, salt, and pepper like we usually do. But I was famished while I was making dinner last night and knew that a piece of fish and some asparagus was not going to hold me over. I needed something with a little more staying power, so I poked around in the kitchen and figured some carbs and healthy fats would do the trick.

asparagus

This isn’t really a recipe, so much as it was a “throw whatever you have on hand together and hope for the best” kind of situation.┬áBut the steps were basic:

  • Cut asparagus stalks into bite-size piece and saute in olive oil 8-10 min or until tender (I should have added garlic!) Season with salt and pepper.
  • Scoop out avocado and dice into 1/2 in. cubes.
  • Toss asparagus and avocado with cooked brown rice (preferably still warm). Season with S&P plus the juice of 1/2 lemon. Stir, stir, stir! (Because the rice and asparagus was still warm, the avocado melted a little bit, making the consistency almost like a risotto). Toss in some feta cheese if you’d like (we did. And we liked!)
  • We served with some very simple baked tilapia (just seasoned with S&P and some red chili flakes and lemon juice, baked at 350* for 15 minutes).

A fresh, simple, healthy, and delicious dinner? Just another added summer perk!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    July 11, 2013 5:41 pm

    and iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii helped =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

