Skip to content

Super Cool and Minty Fresh

May 31, 2011

I’ve been living in Maryland for four years now, and it still surprises me that Spring doesn’t exist here. One day it’s 50 degrees and blustery, and then all of a sudden it’s ONE HUNDRED DEGREES before the first of June. One hundred degrees does not Spring make, I say. Back in Rhode Island, the hottest, muggiest days in August rarely inched past 90. However, I am not complaining. I will take 100* and sunny over 25* and snowing any day of the week!

Anyways, I digress. The moral of the story is that, when the temperatures reach triple digits, even a baking fiend like myself doesn’t want to turn on the stove or the oven. No one needs an extra 350* heating up the kitchen. When it’s this hot out, I want ice cream (oh, who am I kidding? I want ice cream in the middle of a blizzard. I should say I want ice cream even MORE than usual in this weather).

I came home today with a half gallon of Turkey Hill Skinny Minty in my possession.

I had some of this at my dad’s last night and could not pull myself away from it. I generally don’t go for mint ice cream, but this stuff was delicious. It doesn’t hurt that it’s laced with a fudge and cookie swirl that was crack-like in its addictiveness, but I digress again.

When I got home, I realized that I had a bunch of Oreos leftover from a cookie experiment last week when Nick was here. Yes, I made cookies with cookies last week, and they were disgusting in the most delicious way possible—but that’s another post for another day. I saw the leftover Oreos sitting on my counter and thought to myself: “Self? What could you whip up with those Oreos that doesn’t involve a lot of prep work?” Immediately I thought: cookie crust. Oh, yes. Cookie crust it was. But what would I fill this cookie crust WITH?

Duh. Skinny Minty. What works better with a buttery, cookie crust than a fudge and cookie-swirled ice cream? Nothing I say.

Green Monster Ice Cream Cookie Pie:

(serves 6-8, or one very hungry ice cream lover. Just kidding. I didn’t eat this entire thing myself. Yet).

Ingredients:

20-25 crushed Oreos

1/4 cup melted unsalted butter

about 5 cups mint ice cream (or any of your preference!), softened

chocolate chips for garnish (optional—I bet fudge would be a GREAT substitution)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350* (no worries. You’ll only have it on for about 10 minutes total!)

2. Crush Oreos to a fine crumb. A food processor works well, as does putting the cookies in a baggie and crushing with a rolling pin. I opted for the ever-so-classy crushing-with-a-glass-in-a-tupperware route.

3. Fight the urge to eat Oreo crumbs with a spoon for dinner.

4. Mix crushed cookies and melted butter in a bowl until well-combined.

5. Press wet crumbs in a pie dish. A 9in round would work well, but I only had an 8in. square on hand. It worked fine!

6. Bake crust for about 8 minutes or until hardened.

7. Wait for crust to cool, then spread ice cream on top. Use spoon to smooth and even out.

8. Garnish with toppings of choice, cover with foil, and freeze until hardened.

8. Enjoy!

I plan on bringing this to school with me tomorrow and celebrating Hump Day with my co-workers. Really “celebrating Hump Day” is just another way of saying “I’m afraid I’ll only eat this pie at every meal if I keep it in my freezer, so I better share the love ASAP.” Hey, at least I know my limits, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 9:26 pm

    Wow! This recepie sounds amazing! I am a huge fan of mint chocolate chip ice cream, in fact it is one of the only ones I eat as I usually do not eat ice cream that much. But this recepie is just perfect! Thanks for sharing…

    • June 1, 2011 6:56 am

      Haha I feel ridiculous and a bit like Sandra Lee from the Food Network calling it a “recipe,” but I hope you try it and enjoy!!

  2. July 20, 2011 4:40 pm

    looks delicious! ha, i would totally eat that at home by myself…good idea to bring it to work!

Leave a Reply

