Skip to content

Sunday = <3

June 5, 2011

I love Sundays. (I also love sundaes, but that’s neither here nor there). Many weekends, especially those when Nick is in town, I like to go go go so as to maximize every possible second of my free time. I’ll have a plan of action for every hour of the day, from the time I roll out of bed (usually embarrassingly early) until the time I go to bed (also embarrassingly early).

Then, there are Sundays like the one I had today: blissfully quiet, calm, and relaxing. Some highlights:

Coffee tastes so much better on the weekend, when I can sit on the couch and actually take a minute to enjoy it (as opposed to downing it in gulps at my desk, during homeroom, while trying to control thirty fourteen-year-olds).

An easy, light, refreshing summer breakfast: cottage cheese, blueberries, maple syrup, cinnamon, peanut butter, Kashi Go Lean.

(Source)

(Use your imagination and pretend this is a picture of me working out, hokay?) While other people use the weekends to take a break from exercise, I find I get my best workouts in on the weekend. Saturday and Sunday are my “balls to the wall” days at the gym. Today, I did fifty minutes of intervals on the treadmill and fifteen minutes of intervals on the elliptical. Then I took my nasty, sweaty self to the grocery store and picked up these beauts:

I promise I subsist on more than produce and dairy (which is apparently all I bought today).

I have eaten this exact smoothie every day for the last week. Don’t mess with perfection, right?

(Frozen berries, Greek yogurt, cocoa powder, and spinach topped with Kashi Go Lean, peanut butter, and chocolate chips. It’s like eating dessert for lunch. In other words, get in my belly).

I spent some time reading these guys today. Most of my time was spent reading The New Meaning of Educational Change. Such is the life of a graduate student, I suppose.

Focus on these two bad boys for a second. Last night, at my birthday dinner, my brother and dad both gifted me cookbooks (which was apparently unplanned). Funk got me Clean Food, which is very Michael Pollan-esque in its concept and recipe base. It’s also broken up by season! Pops got me the Dom DeLuise book, which was actually the first cookbook he ever bought for himself (and which he also says is still his favorite). Expect to see something good come out of these!

After a trip to Target (my second in two days, as usual) and a coffee date with my pops, this happened:

Skype: the best thing to happen to long distance relationships since free night and weekend cell phone plans. ❤

What started out as a craptastic, overcast morning turned into a sunny, breezy afternoon. I took advantage of the pleasant change and went for a little stroll in the ‘hood. And by the ‘hood, I mean my little corner of quiet suburbia.

Did you know that the TV Guide channel runs a Hills “OMG Marathon” every Sunday?

I do. And I’m only mildly ashamed.

Eventually this happened:

Oh, chocolate granola. I will keep making you and convincing myself that you are a health food. Yum.

And with that…

What was your Sunday like?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 8:37 pm

    Hey there!
    Sounds perfect. I too love getting up early on the weekends as I want to spend them slowly basking in the joy of pleasures such as a healthy breakfast, long walk in the park with my dogs, time sitting in the sun, etc. I also get my BEST workouts in on the weekends since then I can get to the gym as not an employee, but a member. I can go at it longer than the half hour we are allotted (spelling?) at work and really take my time. I can take classes such as spinning or Yoga and really have fun! But I haven’t been able to do that recently as I have been on the travel go. So you ask, how did I spend my Sunday….

    It was an interesting one. It started out 12 midnight still awake and actually out walking in NYC. I started an 18 mile walk at 7:45 pm in Brooklyn with my mom and sister as a means to walk in the AFSP Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk for suicide prevention and awareness. We were still walking at midnight. In fact, I can remember it now… we were juts about at mile 10. My feet were in terrible pain. The balls of my feet were so sore I wish at this point they would just go numb and I would no longer feel them. We stopped at one of the rest stops to eat, use the bathroom, and get water. I decided to change back into my running shoes (I had already changed shoes once at mile ~5 or so). We walked across from the West Side Highway to the Avenue of the Americas. We kept on going down to Broadway. We wound up back over the Brooklyn Bridge and came in to the end of the walk at about 2:35. We did it in just under 7 hours….

    We rested from about 3:30 am until 9:30. Then we all had breakfast at my sister’s apartment and I was on the road back to Baltimore. I listened to some great music in the car and reminisced (spelling?) on college memories as I drove through the University of Delaware campus. I came home to find out we were having a barbecue with Drew’s family, a nice surprise. Typically I do not like surprises and lately do not like having guests over. But I made it a point to be in a positive mood, enjoy their company, and have fun. It was really great food and I am glad I had the mindfulness to choose to enjoy it. I did some gardening and spent time with my dogs. Overall a great day. Thanks for asking!

    • June 5, 2011 8:55 pm

      Sounds like you had a fantastic weekend! What a great cause to give your support (and sore feet!) to. Welcome back to Baltimore; I hope you have a great week!

  2. David permalink
    June 6, 2011 2:51 am

    In case you haven’t already seen this:

    http://www.randomhouse.com/kvpa/eastonellis/pdfs/JerseyShoreJan2011.pdf

  3. June 6, 2011 4:28 pm

    Hey! I just found your blog (from the comments over @ SnackFace) and I love it! I used to teach too – I totally understand the crazy mornings – and the beauty of a relaxing cup of joe at home on the weekends! I feel ya on the smoothies too – somehow a “dessert” – like meal can help my sweets cravings throughout the day.

    Have a great night!

    • June 6, 2011 8:47 pm

      Hey Faith!

      So glad that you found me and enjoy what you’ve read so far! And I’m glad someone understands my smoothie love—I just downed yet another one for dinner!!

      Thanks again for reading. I hope you’ll keep stopping by!

  4. June 7, 2011 3:01 am

    Mmm, Sundays are THE best! I spent mine running my first Half-Marathon.Yay!!

    • June 7, 2011 6:50 am

      Oh my goodness! How exciting! Congratulations on such a huge accomplishment. Where was the race?

      • June 7, 2011 10:44 am

        It was in Alameda, California. (Across the Bay from San Francisco). I have to say, it was an amazing experience!

      • June 7, 2011 11:51 am

        I so badly want to run the Nike Women’s Half in San Fran. All those hills, though!

        Congrats again!

Trackbacks

  1. She’s a Monoeater « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

