Skip to content

26

June 6, 2011
tags: ,

Today is my 26th birthday! (Or, as my brother put it this morning, the day I am officially “closer to 30 than I am to 20.”  Thanks for that one, Funk). There hasn’t been much time for celebrating today due to work/staff meeting/graduate class, although there was a little bit of incognito cake-eating in my last class of the day (no, parties and food aren’t allowed in the middle of the school day, but I’m not one to turn down a student-made cake on my birthday. That would just be cruel and wasteful!). However, I have taken a little bit of time in the last few weeks leading up to my birthday reflecting back on the past year. This is what I came up with:

My 25th year was, in a word, busy. This year, I surprised myself and did a few things I never thought I’d do, proving to myself that I am capable of a lot more than I give myself credit for, and that stepping outside of my self-imposed box of safety is sometimes the best thing I can ever do. I trained for and ran my first half-marathon, raising nearly $1,500 for charity. I spent two weeks in Israel with forty two strangers (who didn’t remain strangers for long!). I started working on my master’s degree while teaching full-time. Nick and I made it through another year of long-distance. I started a blog! I pushed myself this year, and it paid off. I’m crossing into my mid-to-late twenties (oy) feeling accomplished, content, and excited about the year ahead.

A couple of weeks ago, I started thinking about where I’d like to be in four years. On a whim, I created a “30 Things To Do Before Turning 30” list. The results:

1. Get my master’s degree.
2. Get married.
3. Travel to California.
4. Go swimming in the Pacific Ocean.
5. Start a blog.
6. Get published.
7. Run another half marathon.
8. Go SCUBA diving.
9. Buy a house.
10. Own a dog.
11. Learn to surf.
12. Travel to Hawaii.
13. Travel to Europe: France, England, Greece, Italy.
14. Learn more about photography.
15. Take cooking classes.
16. Give therapy a try.
17. Go to Harry Potter world.
18. Play an instrument.
19. Go see a professional football game (not sure why).
20. Meet new people.
21. Do something creative.
22. Reread the entire Harry Potter series back-to-back.
23. Grow and maintain a garden.
24. Read more classics.
25. Try to live vegan for a week.
26. Go skiing and snowboarding.
27. Read more Shakespeare.
28. Tap dance again.
29. Bake my own bread.
30. Be content.

Obviously there are things on this list that are going to be easier to accomplish than others (um, baking bread versus buying a house?) and I’ve already crossed number 5 off my list! I am confident that I can achieve a lot of these things in the next four years and, heck, let’s be honest, I’ll probably add another thirty things to the existing list as the years go on. C’est la vie, right?

What do you want to accomplish in the next four or five years? Anything you’re itching to cross off your “list”?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 7:14 am

    I love your list…I have an easy recipe for bread if you’re interested.

    #30 is the best!

    • June 7, 2011 8:32 am

      Yes, please send me the recipe! I found one through the NY Times that I want to try, but will take any others as well!

      And yeah, # 30 is kind of vague, but probably the most important one on there. We’ll see how I do ; )

  2. June 7, 2011 10:06 am

    hmmm… interesting concept. I should really make a list. I am turning 30 in October. Let’s see how this goes:
    1. Have 6 paying clients in my business
    2. Run a group coaching workshop for nurses at a hospital
    3. Start Integrative Nutrition Coaching class
    4. Take 5 dance medicine classes
    5. Have an accupuncture treatment
    6. Run the Baltimore half faster than last year
    7. Get in the pool at the club
    8. Take my dogs back to dog training
    9. Go to a resort/spa sort of vacation
    10. Have my healing pathways people over for dinner
    11. Have my uncle down to visit Baltimore
    12. Take Yoga on the beach
    13. Run/walk with no foot pain
    14. Paint another canvas
    15. Create another vision board

    … Ok so I only have 4 months until I am 30 so I am taking half the list and only doing 15 things. I think that is fair! But what a neat idea. I will have to print this out so that I know what I am working towards!

    Let me know how your list comes along; I’d love to hear when you do things on your list…

    • June 7, 2011 11:52 am

      I think those are all fantastic goals! I’ll definitely keep you posted on my progress; I’d love to hear yours as well!

  3. Evan permalink
    June 7, 2011 6:27 pm

    Where in the hell did #19 come from??

  4. David permalink
    June 8, 2011 5:29 am

    You have no excuses for not completing (3) and (4). I live in California only 3 miles from the Pacific ocean (which I’ve only gotten to once in the two years I’ve been here…that’s a little sad come to think of it).

    Better visit before I either (1) finish my PhD or (2) get kicked out for not passing the qualifying exams.

    And I’m practically within walking distance of Fashion Island, which I believe is one of your interests on facebook.

    Seriously, how have you not visited yet?

    • June 8, 2011 6:56 am

      1. I will come to visit. Seriously. I just need to set aside a vacation where I’m not visiting family in Florida and save up a free flight from Southwest and I’m golden!
      2. Fashion Island is an interest of mine on FB because my cousin works there! Although it does sound pretty awesome.
      3. You’re not getting kicked out of school.
      4. I miss your face.

      • David permalink
        June 8, 2011 7:33 am

        1. Good deal. Too bad our schedule’s might not sync up this summer since the other bedroom in my apartment will be empty.

        2. I feel like I knew that and yet always forget.

        3. Well, exam is in two weeks so I guess we’ll know then.

        4. Back at ya!

      • June 8, 2011 7:58 am

        You’ll be great. I’m sending you loads of positive vibes!

  5. June 22, 2011 2:07 pm

    This is so weird—I randomly came across your blog (via Big Girl Feats), and when I scrolled down and read this post I did a double take: I, too, celebrated my 26th on June 6! So random 🙂 Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

