Skip to content

A Redhead Bakes Blondies

June 11, 2011

As I previously mentioned, generally I am the one doing the baking when Nick comes to town. His sweet tooth rivals that of a premenstrual woman, and I love getting to try out new recipes when he’s in town without fear of anything going to waste. The boy will eat anything, even if he doesn’t like it, so I can experiment freely and know it will be put to good use!

However, the tables turned when, last night, Nick told me that he wanted to bake something for ME this weekend as a belated birthday treat. Not only did he want to bake, but he wanted to make something from SCRATCH (something I’ve only ever seen him do once before, with his family’s famous whoopie pie recipe). Who am I to deny the man the pleasure of baking for someone else?!

So this morning, after researching a few recipes, he decided on this beauty and diligently got to work. I diligently got to work taking photographic evidence that this actually happened, as well as constantly getting in his way, trying to taste the batter. Some highlights (and actual quotes):

(“Baby, it says to ‘sift’ some ingredients, and to ‘beat’ others. Can you define that for me?”)

(“Is this considered melted butter, or do I actually need to…you know…melt it?”)

(Mid-lyric)

(“Do the bastards who create measuring spoons even MAKE a 1/8 teaspoon?”)

(“WHY WON’T IT TWIST?!”)

SNEAK!

After being denied from the batter for the millionth time, I was finally given a consolation prize. Winner!

This:

turned into this:

(“Baby, why are you taking pictures on the living room floor?”)

(“Aw. This recipe is subtitled ‘The Easiest Dessert You’ll Ever Make Unless You Microwave Cake Mix. Apparently I didn’t challenge myself!”)

(“OHMYGOODNESS! NicktheseareGOOD!”-yes, that was a genuine delighted response from me. The boy impressed!)

The real kicker:

He did the dishes, too.

Now THAT’S true love.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 4:57 pm

    I love this blog. It looks like he did a great job!

    • June 11, 2011 9:06 pm

      I love that you love this blog, and I love having you as a reader! He really did do a great job. Now that you know he can bake, you can totally expect him to contribute treats!

  2. June 12, 2011 1:11 am

    Cutest post ever! And those look absolutely scrumptious!

  3. June 12, 2011 2:20 pm

    Wow. Looks like a really yummy treat and it looks really great that you two have so much fun doing that. That is so fantastic for you to have a partner who shares your interests and does things with you! Good for you. Hope they were as delightful as they looked!!

    • June 12, 2011 2:34 pm

      He’s definitely a good egg! This was a rare case where he was the one baking (usually he fully supports my efforts by eating what I make, but rarely am I on the receiving end of a baking session!). I am a happy, lucky girl : )

      Hope you’re having a good weekend!

  4. June 13, 2011 10:17 am

    Those look so yummy, I love the personality in your posts 🙂

    • June 13, 2011 11:09 am

      Thanks so much, Jessica! Glad you’re enjoying it : )

      And yes, they were delicious! Definitely give the recipe a try!

Leave a Reply

