Skip to content

Practice What You Preach

June 17, 2011

Know how I listed my favorite fast, healthy foods yesterday? Without even realizing it, I noticed that several of them made an appearance last night and today! Hey, at least I can say I’m practicing what I preach, right?

First up, I felt the urge to bake last night, but I wanted something fairly quick, super easy, and relatively healthy. I looked around in my kitchen, and I came up with these guys:


Chocolate Banana Oat Cookies:

I loosely based these on Tina’s Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies, making a few substitutions and additions. These are delicious and relatively healthy for you (at least as far as cookies are concerned!)

Makes about 12 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • Pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Mix all ingredients in medium bowl until well mixed.
  • Spoon dough onto a greased baking sheet (I used a tablespoon to portion out my dough).
  • Bake cookies for 9-11 minutes or until springy to the touch. Enjoy!

Dinner tonight was my clear summer obsession:

a smoothie! When it’s this hot and muggy out, I can’t get enough of these. In the mix:

  • ½ frozen banana
  • ⅓ C. frozen blueberries
  • ½ C. nonfat plain Greek yogurt (Chobani)
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • handful of spinach

Topped with: ½ C. Kashi Go Lean, ½ crumbled Chocolate Banana Oat cookie.

What can I say? When I find something I like, I stick to it! Am I the only one?

Happy Friday, everyone : )

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 12:00 pm

    I’m right there with you. Pure obsession until something even better comes along! 😉 By the way, those cookies look super delish! I love finding recipes that do not utilize sugar. It’s a rare find! Thanks for sharing!

    • June 18, 2011 12:01 pm

      Definitely give them a try; they’re soft, chocolaty, and really delicious! Let me know how you like them : )

  2. Nick permalink
    June 18, 2011 3:38 pm

    I feel that way about video games and sci-fi tv shows 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Reader’s Request: What The Heck To Do With Oats « Go With the Dough
  2. Seasonal Smoothie « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

