Skip to content

A Baking Storm

June 20, 2011

While I do bake quite a bit, I really baked up a storm this weekend. I had occasions for all of the goodies: a Father’s Day BBQ at my brother’s on Saturday night and a dessert item for a teacher luncheon at work on Monday. I knew I didn’t want to make the same thing for both events (I mean, variety is the spice of life, right?), but other than that, I kind of winged it!

For Funk’s BBQ, I decided to make a berry crisp. I have a weird emotional connection to fruit crisps, probably because my Great Aunt Esther used to make the BEST apple crisp in the universe, and it was one of the first recipes my dad and I ever made together. Her topping was loaded with butter and sugar, as all crisps should be, and I’ve used it as a model for all the crisps I’ve tried since then.

Apples clearly aren’t in season, but strawberries and blueberries are! AND they were on super sale at Giant this weekend.

These babies were HUGE, juicy, and as sweet as candy. They looked like prop food—just too big and vibrant to be real. As soon as I spotted them, I knew they would make the perfect filling for my dessert.

I’ve used a bunch of crisp recipes in the past, but what I usually end up rolling with is a hodge-podge of all of them. Here’s what ended up working out for me this time:

Strawberry and Blueberry Crisp (this time loosely based on The Neely’s recipe)

For filling:

  • 4 cups blueberries, rinsed
  • 2 cups strawberries, rinsed and sliced (any combination of berries would work!)
  • 1 T flour
  • a little less than 1/4 cup sugar
  • about ¼ t salt

For topping:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats (I bet rolled oats would be great, too).
  • a little less than 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • a little less than 1/4 cup sugar (I generally cut the sugar content of my desserts as much as possible without sacrificing taste!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 stick room temperature unsalted butter, cubed

Directions:

Toss filling ingredients in a small bowl, set aside. Toss topping ingredients in a bowl, toss in butter, and mix with a fork until well-combined and crumbly. Place filling ingredients in an 8X8 baking pan and evenly sprinkle topping over filling. Bake at 375* for 35 minutes, or until bubbly. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream, if desired!

This came out AWESOME. Just sweet enough, buttery, syrupy, and exactly what summer should taste like. Yum and yum.

On Sunday, I needed to prep dessert for that teacher luncheon on Monday and decided to roll with one of my new favorite cookie recipes, courtesy of Jessica at How Sweet It Is. Warning: these cookies are not health food. These cookies don’t even come close to resembling health food. These cookies have enough butter and sugar in them to make Paula Deen jealous. They are called Double Fudge Oreo Cookies. Yes, they are cookies made with other cookies crushed in to them. Obviously, all of these things mean they are absolutely delicious.

I was so consumed by these that I completely forgot to take a picture of the end product. Whoops. That’s ok; the dough is the best part anyways (Jessica mentions that you really want to up your “raw egg” tolerance for this dough; she isn’t kidding).

All in all, a successfully sweet weekend!

Did you make anything good this weekend? Anything I NEED to try?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 10:47 pm

    Lppks good! I have many weekends like that myself. I recently made mini strawberry rhubarb pies which were pretty great.

  2. June 21, 2011 1:23 pm

    That berry crisp is an excellent way to make use of the current abundance of berries. YUM! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Not Brownie Cookies « Go With the Dough
  2. Cookie Within a Cookie « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

