Skip to content

Falafel Me

June 22, 2011

When I was in Israel last summer, I more or less lived on pita, hummus, and falafel. It was cheap, it was delicious, and it was EVERYWHERE. While everyone else on my trip couldn’t wait to get far, far away from the fried chickpea balls by the end of our trip, I found myself craving them long after I arrived back in the states.

A few months ago, Nick and I had a can of chickpeas on hand and were trying to decide what to make with them. I did a little research online and stumbled upon this recipe from Eating Well magazine for Chickpea Burgers. Thinking they would taste like my beloved falafel, I modified the recipe slightly and came up with this:

Chickpea Burgers

(I swear those aren’t peanut butter cookies or pancakes!)

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained

2-3 T whole-wheat flour

1 egg

1/2 tsp salt

cumin and oregano to taste (I prefer LOTS of both)

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender.
  • Blend until well-mixed. Add flour if mixture is too runny.
  • Spray nonstick pan with cooking spray, heat pan to medium-high.
  • Divide mixture into four “patties” (at this stage, they will look more like pancakes. That’s ok!)
  • Cook “burgers” for 5-6 minutes on each side, or until browned.

I’ll be honest: these taste NOTHING like the falafel in Israel, but they are an easy, healthy substitute. I like to top mine with hummus (yes, I top chickpeas with chickpeas) or with a little bit of hot sauce.

As good as these burgers are, they will never compare to these:

Anyone happen to have a free ticket to Tel Aviv lying around?

(PS–Head on over to Erin’s blog to read my guest post on staying sane amidst the insanity of everyday life. Hope you enjoy it!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 4:14 pm

    Yum! I love chick peas and I make a great low fat falafel patty! I do the same as you, top the chickpeas with hummus-delicious!

Leave a Reply

