Skip to content

Not Brownie Cookies

June 24, 2011

The other night, anticipating Nick’s arrival the following evening, I decided to get baking. I called and asked what he’d like, and his response was, as usual, “Anything with chocolate in it.” That I could do.

Originally, I was going to make Chocolate Brownie Cookies; I made them with GREAT success a few months ago, but I couldn’t find the recipe for the life of me. I researched a bunch of other recipes, but I kept coming up empty handed. Mid-recipe search, I decided that, regardless of what I made, I knew I wanted to use up some of the leftover Oreos from last week’s baking extravaganza. I finally went with this recipe and got baking.

Here’s the deal. I know that baking is a science and that you’re supposed to be super meticulous and blah blah blah. But I did both a lot of things wrong and that I wasn’t supposed to do with this recipe.

First of all, the melted chocolate would not mix seamlessly with the egg, oil, and vanilla mixture. There were clumps of chocolate, but I figured it wasn’t a huge deal and went ahead with the rest of the steps. Secondly, I realized halfway through making the cookies that the dough needed to be chilled for two hours, and I was way too impatient to give it that much time. One hour seemed good enough to me!

The result?

Still pretty darn delicious. They came out crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. And even though the dough itself should have been chocolate, there were still plenty of chocolate chunks (and Oreos!) to make up for it.

Sometimes a recipe doesn’t pan out the way you’d expect or planned. If you’re lucky, the result will still be as good (or better!) than what you’d hoped.

(And if your significant other is anything like mine, they’ll love the mistakes just as much as they love the successes).

That’s just the way the cookie crumbles.

(Womp womp womppppppp)

Any other baking mishaps out there this week?

Leave a Reply

