Skip to content

Good Influence

June 25, 2011

One of the best things about Nick being in town is that I actually feel inspired to cook (and eat) real meals. When he’s not here, and I’m fending for myself, it’s so much easier to fall into a rut of convenience; after a long day, instead of cooking for myself, I’ll often opt for a smoothie or a bowl of oatmeal for dinner. While this isn’t a huge deal, it is certainly refreshing to eat real meals for a change (and to share the burden of prep, cooking, and clean up with a buddy!)

(sneak!)

I like to think I’m a good influence on Nick’s eating habits, too. I’ve turned him on to some healthier swaps (lean ground chicken instead of beef, skim milk, etc.), and now he’ll often be the one to suggest what vegetables to include in each meal. Win-win, right?

The other night’s dinner was the perfect example of a healthier, yet complete meal that we’d work on together. I suggested we make burgers, but I wanted to get a little fancy. Taking inspiration from the Whole Foods burgers my brother had at his BBQ last weekend, I did a little brainstorming and came up with these bad boys:

Spinach and Feta Chicken Burgers

Ingredients:

1 one lb package lean ground chicken (I bought extra lean, but would actually suggest regular lean. Our burgers came out a little on the dry side).

1 T McCormick Montreal Grill Seasoning

2 cloves garlic

1/2 bag of spinach

1/2 yellow onion

1-2 oz feta cheese

Directions:

1. Season chicken with grill seasoning.

2. In the meantime, saute spinach with garlic (you can use oil; we used cooking spray) until wilted.

3. Add spinach, raw onions (also would be great sauteed!), and feta to chicken. Mix well until combined.

4. Score meat into four patties. Either grill or cook in nonstick skillet until cooked through (about 5-6 minutes per side). Enjoy!

We served our burgers on whole wheat sandwich thins, and with a side of my favorite sweet potato fries.

Satisfying, healthy, and delicious.

Just the kind of influence I needed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 8:26 am

    Those look delish!

Leave a Reply

