Skip to content

Oreo Overload

June 26, 2011

So remember how last week I bought a bag of Oreos to make my new favorite cookies? Here’s the problem. The recipe I originally used called for, at most, a cup and a half of Oreos. Even after I made these, I was still left with over two sleeves of Oreos, just sitting in a TupperWare and staring me in the face. I needed another recipe for them, and I needed one quickly.

Luckily, my friend Kristine’s birthday was yesterday, and I knew that I wanted to bake something to bring to her surprise party. I also knew that she loves chocolate nearly as much as I do, and I thought she might appreciate something extra chocolaty as a special birthday treat.

Enter this recipe with a few substitutions (mainly I didn’t make the frosting–which I now regret because it sounds AWESOME–and I added chocolate chips to the batter for an extra dose of chocolaty goodness).

The batter was a true thing of beauty: shiny, smooth, and deeply chocolate. I knew this was going to be a success.

I was absolutely correct.

These brownies were definitely of the cakey variety: very moist, and very fluffy. The fact that the recipe called for cocoa powder instead of melted baking chocolate gave these an intense chocolate flavor that I adored (and it didn’t hurt that I added the chocolate chips in at the end, either). And the crushed Oreos took them to another level: nothing says decadence like chocolate baked into chocolate with a little more chocolate thrown in for good measure.

Another thing I loved about these? They had a great crumb.

Is that weird? I don’t know why, but I love it when my baked goods leave behind crumbs.

My quality control tester (Nick, obviously) agreed: the crumbs leave you all the more to savor at the end. Ahh, baked goods. The gift that keeps on giving!

Leave a Reply

