Skip to content

Kitchen Sink Deliciousness

June 27, 2011

One of the perks of being a teacher has to be all the goodies I receive throughout the year: Christmas cookies, birthday cake, Starbucks gift cards out the wazoo. Generally, at the end of the school year, a few of my kids will give me small “Thank You” gifts, and this year, those gifts were nearly all some form of chocolate (do they know me, or what?).

One of the most random gifts I got was from a kid in my homeroom who I didn’t even teach. He walked up to me on the last day of school, handed me this bag of white fudge-covered pretzels, and thanked me for being his homeroom teacher.

Apparently I did an awesome job of taking attendance each day. (Pats self on back).

I love all forms of chocolate-covered pretzels: dark, milk, or white. I am a huge sucker for the sweet/salty combination in my desserts, and these definitely satisfy that craving. While I was making lunch yesterday afternoon, I popped a pretzel and threw one to Nick, too. Mid-crunch, I turned to him and asked, “Do you think these would taste good in a cookie?” The boy didn’t even have time to respond before I started planning a recipe.

I remembered reading about Momofuku Milk Bar in NYC and their famous “Compost Cookie.” The ingredients sound gross (chocolate, potato chips, Rice Krispies, etc.), but I’ve heard nothing but good things—in fact, I’ve heard several people refer to the Compost Cookie as the best they’ve ever eaten. Sweet + salty = apparently a universally delicious combo.

After taking a gander at this recipe as a reference, here’s what I came up with:

Kitchen Sink Cookies

Ingredients:

1/4 C. + 2 T butter, softened

< 1/4 C. sugar

<1/4 C. brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1.25 C. flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 C. chocolate chips

1/2 C. crushed Oreos (yes, I’m still trying to get rid of them)

about 4 oz. white chocolate-covered pretzels

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350*. Beat butter and sugars until creamy and combined.

Add in egg and vanilla and beat until blended.

2. Combine flour, b. soda, and salt in small bowl, then gradually add to wet ingredients. Mix until well incorporated.

3. Beat in chocolate chips, pretzels, and Oreos until just combined.

4. Refrigerate dough for at least one hour (this step is KEY! It makes the dough hold its shape so much better).

5. Drop dough by tablespoon fulls onto baking sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes.

These cookies are outrageous.

They are chewy.

They are buttery.

They are salty.

They are sweet.

They are straight-up addictive.

And they may have just taken over as my new favorite cookie recipe.

I’ll consider this my reward for being a kick ass homeroom teacher. Job satisfaction has never tasted so good.

Are you a sweets person? Salty? Or, like me, are you greedy and crave BOTH?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 4:35 pm

    My sweet tooth definitely rages over my salty tooth! Gotta have that chocolate, but I can take or leave chips and pretzels

    • June 27, 2011 7:39 pm

      I’m generally the same way—I’ll take dessert over ANYTHING savory any day of the week. But these really hit the spot!

  2. Kristine permalink
    June 27, 2011 7:25 pm

    Those cookies sound GREAT!!!!

  3. June 28, 2011 2:30 pm

    I am a definite salty person! I love the stuff!!!

  4. AllisonP permalink
    June 29, 2011 6:18 pm

    Chocolate pretzels are literally my #1 candy…these look amazing! Enjoying reading your blog and please continue to post embarrassing stories about your brother, the throwing of the Risk dice was particularly amusing 🙂 –Allison

    • June 29, 2011 7:43 pm

      Glad you’re enjoying it, Allison! And don’t worry; I have YEARS worth of embarrassing stories ; )

Trackbacks

  1. Cookie Within a Cookie « Go With the Dough
  2. PB&J Thumbprints « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

