Skip to content

The Early Bird Hits Snooze

June 29, 2011
tags:

source

Yup. That’s right. All of my good intentions about getting in early morning workouts lasted a whopping two weeks. Let me break it down for ya’ll:

A couple of weeks ago, I decided to give early morning (5 am) workouts a try on Mondays and Wednesdays (the days that I had work and graduate class). On these days, I dragged my sorry butt out of bed and got in 45 minutes of activity; the types of activity varied: free weights, neighborhood walks/jogs, cursing matches interval training with Jillian Michaels, etc. It didn’t matter to me what I did, and I didn’t expect these mornings to fill in as my “balls-to-the-wall” workouts for the week. I just liked feeling that I had moved my body and done SOMETHING. Plus, I felt surprisingly energized on the days that I got in my workout before starting my day.

School ended last Wednesday, and I began curriculum writing on Thursday. CW starts about an hour later than school, so I still managed a morning workout this past Monday (and reveled in the fact that I got to get up at six! Not five! That extra hour made all the difference in the world). I had every intention of going to bed early last night so I could be up at six to go for a long walk this morning.

But then life happened (and by life, I mean that I baked granola and banana bread, read another twenty pages of my book, spent over an hour on the phone catching up with my friend Milla and another twenty minutes trying to figure out why my phone’s screen was frozen, and so on and so forth). Before I knew it, it was after 11:00, and I was exhausted. The thought of getting up at 6 am to go walking was nowhere near as appealing as getting an extra hour of sleep.

So an extra hour of sleep it was! I reset my alarm, and I let myself sleep in until 7 (a legitimate luxury right now). I thought I would feel guilty skipping out on my new morning routine, but I don’t at all. This is where the concept of listening to my body came in very handy: last night I wasn’t just tired; I was downright fatigued. Had I forced myself to get out of bed this morning, I know my workout wouldn’t have been as effective, and I would have been dragging all. day. long.

Luckily, my schedule is a little more flexible during CW than it is during school. I get out two hours earlier than usual, so I got in a half hour walk before I left for class this afternoon anyway (time that I would have otherwise spent laying on the couch—not quite as productive).

And who knows? Maybe I’ll get back into the swing of things next week. Every day is different, so I just need to roll with the punches and see what happens. I like having good intentions, but I also like the idea of cutting myself a little slack when I know I need it most!

How about you guys? Do you plan your workouts and stick to them? Or do you just see where the day takes you and fit it in when you can?

PS–Banana bread recipe coming your way tomorrow!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 5:35 pm

    Well I am so glad to hear you listened to your body and did not push it! Great for you. At times this may seem frustrating and near impossible, as you want to keep on the work-out schedule and get just one more in… but I am all for listening to your body when you need a break. One work-out miss will not ruin everything!

    I do plan, I try to plan out my week. Based on work and other things I see what classes, what days for cardio, what days for weights, when I can get to yoga, etc. But best laid plans have to be broken. At times I plan out the week and then something comes up or I get tired or I find something more fun to do and I have to change the whole plan. But I do try and plan out the week on Sunday night, figuring out which day of the week I will do what. I would say I am able to stick to them about 68% of the time. And if not, I am modifying my work-out to still get something in, but it just may be different than what was originally planned…

    • June 29, 2011 7:44 pm

      Ditto! I really do try to plan and stick to it, but sometimes, as last night, life just gets in the way. Glad I’m not the only one!

  2. Evan permalink
    July 1, 2011 2:12 pm

    Thank God. Your 5 am workouts left me concerned that you were slowly becoming “obsessive exercise woman with whom the family needs to have an intervention.”

  3. July 2, 2011 7:40 am

    I plan them, but then life takes over…it’s just the way it is.

Leave a Reply

