Skip to content

Ten Things That Scream Summer

July 2, 2011

I don’t know why, but it finally feels like summer all of a sudden. Maybe its the incredible weather here in Maryland (mid-eighties, sunny, hardly any humidity) or the fact that I finally found a little bit of time to sit by the pool and read my book this week.

Whatever it is, I’m loving it. Summer is hands down my favorite season for a bunch of reasons, and I relish every single day of it while it sticks around.

Here are ten things that are screaming summer to me this weekend:

1. Outdoor Evening Entertainment

Shakespeare in the Ruins

the Little Italy Italian Film Festival

These are things I look forward to all winter long. Nothing screams summer like lounging outdoors, drinking a glass of wine, waiting for the sun to set somewhere around 9 pm, and soaking in some good times with good people.

A sandwich from the neighborhood deli (Isabella’s) doesn’t hurt, either.

2. $15 Sundresses from Forever 21

If it’s wrong to still be shopping at Forever 21 now that I’m 26, then I don’t want to be right.

3. Berries Galore (and on sale!)

Oh, heavens. So bright and juicy, they almost look fake. I promise they are real and every bit as delicious as they appear.

4. Punchy Nail Polish Colors

Essie’s Turquoise and Caicos and Sephora by OPI’s Don’t Go There. Obnoxiously bright, and totally summer-appropriate.

5. Ice Cream.

This is now one of three open containers in my freezer. No shame.

6. Fresh Flowers

The fact that they were a random gift from Nick makes me love them that much more.

7. Smoothies (yup, still)

At least this one is a deviation on my old standby. This tastes like liquid PB&J, and I can’t get enough of it:

1/2 C. nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1/2 frozen banana, sliced

1/2 C. frozen strawberries

1 T cocoa powder

handful spinach

topped with 1/2 C. Kashi GoLean, 1/2 T peanut butter, and some chocolate oat crumbles.

Divine.

8. Iced Coffee (skim milk, 1 packet of stevia)

Next to ice cream, iced coffee is my favorite summer treat. I need to start making it at home and saving myself the $2 a pop!

9. Summer Reading

Once my summer classes are over on July 13, I will be devouring the stack of books sitting on my bedside table. These are the two that are up first on my rotation. Any other suggestions for some good summer reading?

10. (Fill in the Blank)

OK, so I cheated. I only gave you nine things that are screaming summer to me. But that’s because I believe sharing is caring!

So go ahead, share the love: what is screaming summer to you right now?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 3:55 pm

    You mentioned ice cream, but the ice cream truck, too! 🙂

    • July 2, 2011 3:58 pm

      Oh, absolutely! There’s one that travels around my dad’s neighborhood, and as obnoxious as it is, I actually love listening to the music while I’m laying by the pool!

    • Katherina permalink
      August 21, 2011 7:33 pm

      Hah! I didn’t even know ice cream trucks were still around (too creepy) until recently when I was home in the middle of the day and saw it truckin’ on by! Such a summer icon 🙂

      • August 21, 2011 8:31 pm

        Gotta love the ones that play the really obnoxious music to boot. The one in my dad’s neighborhood plays this horrendous jingle, and squeals “HELLO!!” You can’t miss it if you tried ; )

  2. July 2, 2011 10:49 pm

    Ice cream for sure screams summer to me 🙂 I am reading the red queen too! I lovelove Tudor History! ( and hello! just found your blog haha)

    • July 2, 2011 11:00 pm

      That’s so funny, Lauren! I’m on pg 100 or so, and I’m really enjoying it so far. Let me know what you think!

      And hello and welcome to the blog! I hope you’re enjoying it!

  3. July 2, 2011 11:19 pm

    Sundresses. I am just obsessed!!!

  4. July 3, 2011 7:52 am

    Oh my gosh I couldn’t agree more with this post – you hit upon every thing that is so “summer” to me 🙂

  5. L Dogs permalink
    July 3, 2011 8:18 am

    I’ll add 4 more to the summer list:

    Local Tomatoes with fresh Mozzarella and basil
    The Beach
    Corn On The Cob
    #4 is a Maryland thing……sitting outside picking crabs and drinking cold beer

    Enjoy!

  6. Kristine permalink
    July 3, 2011 9:59 am

    Cookouts!!! Nothing like trying new grill recipes. 🙂

  7. July 3, 2011 2:21 pm

    Watermelon!!! and iced coffee…. 🙂

  8. July 7, 2011 5:18 pm

    Me Talk Pretty One Day is one of my absolute FAVORITE books! If you like memoirs, I also recommend Naked by Sedaris, along with Dry and Magical Thinking, both by Augusten Burroughs. And one of my favorite books of all time, Summer Sisters by Judy Blume.

    • July 7, 2011 5:33 pm

      Confession: I read Summer Sisters every summer between the ages of 14 and 21. Couldn’t give it up.

      I’ll have to check out your other recommendations! Keep ’em coming!

Trackbacks

  1. Pasta Salad Puzzle « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

