Skip to content

That’s Just Bulgur

July 3, 2011

I consider myself a carbohydrate connoisseur. I don’t discriminate when it comes to the stuff; I love pasta, bread, rice, oatmeal, couscous—the list goes on and on.

And yet, one of the things that has kept me from eating these foods is the fact that carbs alone do not keep me full. I can eat an entire bowl of pasta and be hungry an hour later. I’ve realized pretty recently that I need a hefty amount of protein to keep me satiated.

That’s why I was pretty excited when I found this stuff at the grocery store yesterday:

Bulgur is one of those things that I’ve been meaning to try, but I just never got around to it (or even thought to look for it, to be honest). When I saw this (on sale!), I grabbed it without hesitation–especially after looking at the nutritional stats. A 1/4 cup serving (dry) has 115 calories and TEN grams of protein (mainly because this brand of bulgur has soy chips added in). Immediately, I started thinking of all the things I could make with my fun new ingredient.

I found this very informative article from the NY Times on the benefits of bulgur in your diet, with a slew of recipes to try (both savory and sweet!) The bulgur with swiss chard, chickpeas, and feta recipe caught my attention right off the bat, and I decided to put my own spin on it for dinner tonight.

Bulgur with Spinach, Red Peppers, Chickpeas, and Feta

(serves two)

Ingredients:

1 C. bulgur

2 C. water

1 tsp salt

garlic

2-3 cups fresh spinach

1 C. red bell pepper, diced

2 C. chickpeas, rinsed and drained

<1/4 C. feta cheese

Directions:

1. Place bulgur, water, and salt in medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, cover, and let simmer for about ten minutes, or until water is absorbed.

2. Heat garlic in a pan with cooking spray (or olive oil). Saute spinach and red pepper until spinach is wilted and pepper is soft.

3. Toss cooked bulgur with spinach and peppers, fold in chickpeas, and top with feta. Season with salt and pepper (and a dash of cumin, if desired!) to taste.

This dinner was PERFECT. It was fresh, flavorful, colorful, and super filling. I think I may have found a new favorite ingredient!

What’s your favorite grain? Any bulgur lovers out there?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    July 3, 2011 8:22 pm

    I should check out that recipe with Chard… I have Chard coming out of my eyeballs in my garden! And would I like chickpeas if I don’t like hummus?

    • July 3, 2011 8:24 pm

      I bet it would be awesome! And yeah, I’d give plain chickpeas a try—they don”t have tahini in them, and maybe that’s what you don”t like in hummus?

      • Kristin permalink
        July 4, 2011 11:04 pm

        Thanks! I bought a few cans when they were. $.16 so I could experiment!

      • July 5, 2011 8:12 am

        Let me know what you think!

  2. Erika permalink
    July 4, 2011 11:59 am

    I love experimenting with different types of grains and carbs. I’ve never tried bulgur though! Does it taste similar to brown rice?

    • July 4, 2011 12:20 pm

      This was a first for me, too! Bulgur has almost a nutty taste—kind of like buckwheat groats or kasha. I absolutely recommend it!

  3. Sneffy permalink
    July 5, 2011 8:39 am

    If you haven’t tried it, you might also like quinoa (pronounced keen-wa). It is super high in protein as well.

    • July 5, 2011 9:02 am

      Yeah, I’ve been wanting to make it forever, but it is SO EXPENSIVE. This was half the price, so I jumped on it!

      Do you know if quinoa is cheaper at Whole Foods? Bulk bins, maybe?

      • Sneffy permalink
        July 6, 2011 7:47 pm

        I have found quinoa at Trader Joe’s for not prohibitively expensive. I never go to Whole Foods (which one of my friends jokingly calls “whole paycheck,” though that seems like it might be a good idea). Also, for cheap bulgur, you could see if your store carries the Goya brand of it. It comes in a plastic bag and is super duper cheap, though admittedly without the benefit of the soy chips.

      • July 6, 2011 8:21 pm

        Haha I call it Whole Paycheck, too! Great minds think alike. I’m definitely going to have to look at TJ’s, as they are usually my go-to place for inexpensive (usually expensive) staples. Thanks, Sneffy!

Leave a Reply

