Skip to content

Red, White, and Blue(berries)

July 4, 2011

How’s that for a patriotic breakfast?! Yum.

Growing up, the 4th was always my favorite holiday. My family had an annual tradition: we would head down to the beach early in the morning (oh, Rhode Island beaches, how I miss you), spend the entire day in the sun and sand, shower in a friend’s cabana, and hang around, noshing on easy summer foods until the sun went down and the fireworks started. By the time we got home, I was deliciously exhausted from a day spent in the sun, sand, and surf— it was always summer perfection at its best.

Although the nearest beach is hours away now that I live in Maryland, and today ended up being a bit on the cloudy side, I still plan on enjoying the day. Instead of swimming, I’ll celebrate my independence by lazily paging through this bad boy:

And then, right before the sun goes down, I’ll go grab this (not-so-bad) boy from the train:

And if we’re lucky, maybe we’ll catch some fireworks : )

Happy Fourth of July, friends!

What’s your favorite way to spend the 4th? Swimming? Eating? Fireworking?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 7:08 am

    My favorite magazine ever! We cycled, swam, picnicked in the living room, grilled, and sparkler-ed…oh my, how times have changed! Hope you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

