Skip to content

Feeling Old Fashioned

July 6, 2011

I’ve mentioned several times how much I love these easy, no-bake cookies. I would venture to say that I love them too much, actually. They are rich, chocolaty, and they take a whopping five minutes to prepare—no waiting or oven-heating necessary. The whole easy/delicious combination is a dangerous one, that’s for sure.

These babies are also a huge crowd-pleaser. I’ve brought them to school with much fan-fare in the past, and I knew they’d be a hit when it was my turn to bring in snacks for curriculum writing last week. The problem was, when I went to my pantry to get out my usual staples, I realized that I didn’t have any quick cooking oats; I only had a container of old fashioned oats. This might not seem like a problem for someone who hasn’t made these cookies a million times, but I knew from experience that old fashioned oats wouldn’t hold a round, cookie shape when they cooled. They would flatten into little chocolaty patties, which while still tasting delicious would look really unappetizing.

Not to be deterred, I decided to be creative and come up with an easy solution. Instead of making cookies, I’d just make bars instead!

I took the original recipe and made only a few changes:

  • I subbed old fashioned oats for quick-cooking.
  • I cut the sugar amount by 1/4 (trust me, you won’t be able to tell a difference).
  • and I poured the mix into an 8×8 baking pan instead of scooping out into balls on a cookie sheet.

I just popped the pan into the fridge for about an hour, then cut the bars into squares.

They held their shape nicely, and they tasted just as delicious as the original.

As predicted, these were a huge crowd-pleaser. Not only was the entire batch gone within an hour, but several people asked me for the recipe by the end of the day! Sometimes happy accidents can happen in the kitchen, if you’re just willing to be a little flexible and creative, I guess.

Have you had any happy accidents in the kitchen lately?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 6:40 pm

    Those are my FAVORITE cookies! We call them “sick cookies” because if you eat too many, you get sick 😉 I never did like the shape of them, and they’re a real pain to pour onto the sheets. I’ll have to try the pan next time. Those are a Christmas tradition in our family.

    I’ve found that recipe to be deceptively difficult because if you cook the chocolate too much, your cookies crumble, but too little and they’re too chewy.

    Cookie cutters might be good to use, too, and I’ve also thought about using muffin pans and then cutting them after they’ve solidified.

    • July 6, 2011 8:20 pm

      I’ve actually heard of them being called that before! How funny (and very, very true).

      I think the muffin pans are an excellent idea. Similar to the pan, but already pre-portioned. Good thinking, Bear!

  2. July 6, 2011 7:54 pm

    I used to ask my mom to make Pecan Pie all the time for holidays. The year she finally made it from scratch, we took it out of the oven and realized there was an entire stick of butter on the counter she forgot to put in. I don’t know if it was the lack of memory of what Pecan Pie was supposed to taste like since she rarely made it, but it stuck together nicely and we didn’t miss the stick of butter.

  3. July 7, 2011 3:05 pm

    I had a not so happy accident last night when I totally dried out my salmon! I wish my happy kitchen accident turned out more like yours! Haha.

    • July 7, 2011 5:07 pm

      Haha it’s actually rare that I have happy accidents in the kitchen—usually they are very unfortunate (and frustrating!) ones!

  4. Kristin L. permalink
    July 12, 2011 7:53 pm

    I had NEVER had these until I met Chris… these are my mother in law’s specialty. We just call them “no bakes” – yum! Thanks, Hillary… now I want them, lol

    • July 12, 2011 8:54 pm

      They are dangerously easy to make. When I want something chocolaty, but I don’t want to wait for something to bake, these are what I bake. And often, I just eat the “dough” right out of the bowl ; ) No shame@

Leave a Reply

