Skip to content

In A Jam

July 7, 2011

I’m going to go out on a limb and assume that I’m not the only one with a deep, undying love for Real Simple magazine. Correct? Luckily for me, Nick pulled through and bought me a year’s subscription for my birthday (woot!). My first issue came in the mail last week, and I’ve been making my way through it ever since.

Right off the bat, this recipe caught my eye. Homemade jam? Better yet, homemade jam that seems easier than most of the recipes I try on a regular basis? Sign me up!

Also luckily, I happened to have a couple of pints of blueberries just waiting to be put to good use (confession: I have a blueberry hoarding problem in the summer—very similar to my pumpkin hoarding problem in the fall. When blueberries are plentiful–and cheap!–I suddenly need as many pints as will fit in my grocery cart).

So I poured my blueberries, sugar, salt, and lime juice (I was out of lemon, and this worked just fine!) into a saucepan

mashed the berries until they released their juices

and then set them on the stove to thicken up.

The results?

Absolute blueberry perfection, my friends. This is basically pie filling disguised as something suitable to spread on your toast.

While I was perfectly happy eating the entire batch with a spoon, Nick encouraged me to put some on a piece of toast.

“How about some banana bread?” I asked.

“Now you’re talking!”

Great minds think alike, right?

And I quote:

“Oh, baby. This stuff is GOOD.”

Sweet, syrupy, and so delicious.

Real Simple, you win again.

(Edited to note a MAJOR mistake that neither Nick nor I caught originally: I halved the recipe from 5 cups of blueberries to 2.5 cups, but forgot to halve the amount of sugar! When I realized this and pointed it out to Nick, he said, “Yeah, I guess it was kind of sweet. But really good.” Another happy accident!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 5:57 pm

    This does look very delicious and easy! I know it says “makes 3 cups,” but how many servings do you think that is? I mean if I make this how many pieces of bread do you think I can put it on or how many days use will I get out of it? Thanks!!

    • July 7, 2011 7:48 pm

      I cut the recipe in half and yielded a jar’s worth of jam—so however long it would take you to get through an entire jar, I guess! For me, that’s probably a few weeks.

  2. Kristine permalink
    July 7, 2011 6:09 pm

    I love making homemade jams!!! Mixed berries (rasp/black/blue/straw) are my favs together for some tastiness!!! Love your exuberance!! I wish I had some mojo to get myself baking!! 🙂

  3. July 8, 2011 12:44 am

    I also love Real Simple, it’s the aesthetics, really. Their covers are always so beautiful! And the images for their articles are wonderfully creative! I want to replicate every page!

    • July 8, 2011 7:16 am

      And the stuff they suggest is, no pun intended, REALLY SIMPLE. And useful! And beautiful/delicious! I just adore them.

  4. AllisonP permalink
    July 8, 2011 11:04 am

    Hillary, do you also get Martha Stewart magazine? It is awesome (better than Real Simple I think!) Tons of amazing recipes. When I’m done I always tear the recipes out and keep them in a binder for future reference. Yeah, it’s pretty dorky…

    • July 8, 2011 11:48 am

      Haha not dorky at all, Allison! My dad and I both do the same thing. It’s an easy way of basically creating your own cookbook, which I love (he even uses page protectors. We take this stuff seriously, clearly).

      I don’t get MS magazine, but I do get a lot of her recipes off her website. I’ve made some of her cookies in particular that have been incredible. Maybe I’ll look into a subscription, too!

  5. July 8, 2011 11:06 am

    Hahaha – that’s TOTALLY something I would do too! Or I’ll halve half of the ingredients and forget about doing it for the rest! 🙂

    Glad it still turned out well!

    • July 8, 2011 11:49 am

      Haha! Apparently that’s why it tasted so much like pie filling—because it basically WAS! It could’ve been worse, I guess (I could’ve substituted salt for sugar!)

      Too sweet is never a problem in my book ; )

      PS–I’m loving your blog, Cait. Your pictures are phenomenal!

  6. AllisonP permalink
    July 8, 2011 3:02 pm

    I also use page protectors! File under – things you probably shouldn’t admit on the internet.

Leave a Reply

