Skip to content

A Trader Joe’s Ho

July 9, 2011

Hi. My name is Hillary, and I’m a Trader Joe’s-aholic.

As someone who loves food, it should come as no surprise that TJ’s, for me, is a little slice of heaven. Their stuff is so GOOD and so reasonably priced; I just can’t get enough. I also treate a trip to TJ’s like I do a trip to Target: I go in with a clear plan and sometimes a detailed list, and I still manage to walk away having spent serious $$$ on stuff that randomly catches my eye.

TJ’sĀ  has great “staple” foods (peanut butter, salsa, dairy, etc.), but my favorite part of shopping there is exploring all the unique things they have to offer, the things that I didn’t know I needed to try until I was face-to-face with them.

Nick and I decided to drop into my local TJ’s to pick up some goodies for lunches and dinner this week, and this is what we came away with:

A beautiful bounty, isn’t it? And all for under $40! We still have to grab some essentials that we know will be cheaper at Giant, but that should only run us another $10 or so. Here are the things I consider highlights from today’s trip:

Eggplant Garlic spread. No, I still haven’t gotten my fill of this stuff. It is still delicious, versatile, and addictive. I am in love.

White Ruffy?! (Emphasis on the question mark). We have absolutely no idea what kind of fish this is, how to cook it, or what it’s going to taste like. It was on sale, it looks fairly basic, and the nutritional stats are stellar. Plus, according to the package, it won’t leave my kitchen smelling like fish for days after we cook it (a huge deterrent to cooking fish, in my opinion).

I’ll probably smother it in the aforementioned eggplant spread and broil until it’s cooked.

Skinny Fries and Super Seeded chips. We couldn’t even wait to get home to try the fries. They basically taste like potato-air, which is fine. Good for when you need a little crunch, I guess! And the chips are going to be the star of dinner later this week when we make nachos. I’m already excited for that one.

Lentils. I’ve been meaning to try the TJ’s brand pre-cooked lentils for awhile. They are super convenient, they look tasty, and their nutritional stats are out of control. Nick won’t eat them, but I’m probably going to give them a try for lunch or something. Any recipes out there that I can try?

And there you have it! My TJ’s addiction, unpacked and made public for everyone to see. I feel better already!

Are you a Trader Joe’s ho, too? Please tell me I’m not alone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 11:23 am

    I have only been to Trader Joes once in my life!! I am so jealous, I want to go again stat šŸ™‚

    • July 10, 2011 11:47 am

      I feel really lucky that there’s one so close by! I don’t go there all that often (maybe only two or three times a month), but when I do go, I get the most out of it that I can ; )

  2. Nick permalink
    July 11, 2011 8:39 pm

    Who you callin’ a ho yo? šŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Back in the Kitchen « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

