Skip to content

Christmas (in July) Cookies

July 10, 2011

I’ve already told you guys how being a teacher yields its yummy rewards at least a few times every year, but I’d have to say Christmas is the time when I pull in the greatest amount of booty (that’s what she said).

My kids really step it up during the holidays: I find myself hauling in massive amounts of homemade cookies, candies, and jams, specialty coffees and cocoas, and a plethora of chocolates. Usually I end up with so much food that I end up sharing at least half of it, and I freeze whatever I can.

So imagine my surprise (and delight!) when I opened the freezer last night and saw this baby staring right back at me.

Yes, it’s been in there since December, and no that did not deter me from busting it open and using it as the key ingredient in (dare I say!) some of the best cookies I’ve made to date.

Gooey Fudge and Caramel Cookies

Ingredients:

1 stick unsalted butter

3/4 C. sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 C flour

1/4 C. cocoa

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 C. chocolate chips

1/2 caramel chocolate bar, roughly chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350*. Cream butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla until smooth.

2. Add in dry ingredients until well combined.

(I dare you to stay out of this dough. It’s not possible).

3. Stir in chocolate chips and chocolate bar chunks.

4. Scoop out onto cookie sheet using a tablespoon.

5. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

These cookies are everything a good cookie should be:

crispy on the outside, gooey and chewy on the inside, and full of what Nick and I refer to as “the fixins.”

In this case, the fixins are lots of chocolate chips and hunks of caramel-filled Ghiradelli chocolate.

Oh, baby.

After these, I think I’m going to start celebrating Christmas in July more often!

Please tell me I’m not the only one who has months-old chocolate sitting in their freezer!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Carly F. permalink
    July 10, 2011 7:19 pm

    I would but we moved…next year I’ll join you in freezer-scavenging for treats! GREAT recipe–I’ll have to try it soon!

    • July 10, 2011 7:30 pm

      Haha I KNEW a fellow teacher would understand! Definitely give it a try and let me know what you think!

  2. July 11, 2011 11:23 am

    Oh yum – those cookies definitely are Christmas in July! They look awesome – what a creative idea 🙂

    • July 11, 2011 12:31 pm

      They did come out AWESOME. They even smell delicious—weird, but true!

      • July 11, 2011 2:44 pm

        YUM!!! I have candy in my freezer from….June!! 🙂 Although I do believe a child has been ‘digging’ in my treasure!! (was going to ‘try’ putting booty there…but it just DID NOT sound right!! YIKES!!!)

      • July 11, 2011 2:48 pm

        “Digging in my booty.” Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Why « Go With the Dough
  2. Cookie Within a Cookie « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

