Skip to content

Nacho Typical Dinner

July 11, 2011

I heart Mexican food. I love the flavor, the variety, the spice, everything.

I’ve become quite adept at cooking Mexican food at home, too—which is good because your typical Mexican fare is not always super healthy: even the seemingly healthy dishes can quickly be turned around with the addition of sour cream, cheese, and oil. When I make Mexican at home, I control the ingredients, so I can still have all of the flavor with less of the fat. Win-win, right?

When Nick and I dropped in at Trader Joe’s this weekend, we picked these guys up

source

knowing that we were going to make nachos for dinner at least one night this week.

Generally, we would pick up meat to go on the nachos too, but I had two blocks of tofu just sitting in my fridge that needed to be used before my trip to Florida next week. With (surprisingly little) convincing, Nick agreed to let me spice up the tofu as a topping for our nacho feast! After a little pantry exploration, this delicious (and super simple/fairly healthy) meal was born:

Spicy Chili Tofu and Black Bean Nachos

Ingredients:

1 block firm or extra firm tofu (no need to press/drain)

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

Tortilla chips (Amount will vary. For two of us, we used about half a bag and had tons leftover!)

About 1 cup cheddar cheese

Chili powder (to taste)

Cumin (to taste)

Hot sauce (to taste)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400*. Spray baking sheet with cooking spray.

2. Slice and cube tofu into about 1 in. squares. Place on baking sheet and sprinkle evenly with chili powder and cumin.

Bake for 8 minutes on each side, or until tofu begins to brown around the edges.

3. While tofu cooks, place can of beans in a small bowl.

Add chili powder, cumin, and hot sauce to taste (I like a LOT of hot sauce!). Set aside.

4. Once tofu is done cooking, remove from oven and turn heat down to 350*. Spread chips onto baking sheet, top with tofu, beans, and cheese.

5. Bake nachos for 4-5 minutes, or until cheese has melted.

These. were. AWESOME.

The chips were super nutty, the beans and tofu were nice and spicy, and the cheese melted to gooey perfection. If I had had a little more foresight, I would have bought some jalapenos to throw in there as well, but these were great as is. Served with a side salad, they ended up being an easy, delicious, satisfying, and health(ier) Mexican feast.

What’s your best tip for making your restaurant favorites a little bit healthier?

I’ll take all the tips I can get!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 9:16 pm

    I like this vegetarian version of mexican ground beef. They sell it at Safeway in the produce section.

    http://www.lightlife.com/product_detail.jsp?p=smartgroundtaco

    When I’m craving tacos, but don’t want to consume red meat, this is my go-to. And salsa is one of the lowest calorie condiments. I love salsa as a “salad dressing” in the summer on plain lettuce and with some cheddar cheese. Yum!

    • July 12, 2011 8:51 am

      Yeah, black beans are my new go-to substitute—I (oddly) love the taste of “fake” meat, but I’m trying to cut down on how much I consume!

      And salsa is one of my favorite “salad dressings,” too! One of my best friends in college introduced me to what we call the “salsa salad” and I’ve loved it ever since. In fact, that’s what I had for lunch yesterday—romaine, leftover tofu and beans, and TJ’s chipotle salsa! Love it!

Leave a Reply

