Skip to content

Forgetting the Future

July 13, 2011
tags:

Caitlin wrote a great post a few days ago about the tendency many of us have to get so caught up in our goals and plans that we fail to appreciate where we are now. This struck a chord with me because, as a natural “planner,” I tend to fall into this category quite a bit.

source

(wonk wonk wonkkkk)

Often times I am so focused on what I’m planning to accomplish in the future (a week from now, a month from now, ten years from now), that I completely lose sight of who I am and what I’m doing NOW.

Today.

Right this minute.

So I thought today would be as appropriate a time as any to note exactly those things.

Where I am right now? Today? Well,

I may not be ready to buy a house, but:

  • I also love not having the responsibility of being a homeowner right now.
  • If something breaks, I don’t have to pay to fix it. I don’t have to mow the lawn. I don’t have to weed the garden. I just have to pay my rent and that’s it. It’s gloriously responsibility-free.

I might not be training for a race, but:

  • I ran three miles this morning. Three glorious miles of intervals where my legs felt fresh and loose and strong.
  • I spent another fifteen minutes on the stair master. It’s incredible what the stair master can do for your legs, my friends.
  • I lifted weights for twenty five glorious minutes. I’ve only recently started to appreciate how good it feels to strength train. After a weights session, I revel in feeling how fatigued my muscles are. That somehow makes me feel stronger than I did before I walked into the gym. It’s awesome.

I may not have my Master’s degree yet, but:

  • as of 7 pm, I crossed the halfway mark of the program.
  •  In under twelve months, I have completed fifteen credits AND worked full time. I don’t know how, but I did.
  • This feels like my biggest accomplishment in a really, really long time. I’m proud of myself.

Nick and I might not be able to live in the same state for awhile, but:

  • we’ve gotten to spend two awesome, uninterrupted weeks together.
  • We’ve cooked dinner together, watched Mad Men, eaten a LOT of ice cream, and generally enjoyed being together. It’s been fantastic.

I have plenty of time to get where I want to be. It might not happen tomorrow, but it will happen. But I do need to remember to take time to appreciate where I am right now and occasionally forget about the future.

Are you a planner? Where are you, right now, in terms of where you eventually want to be?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 7:46 pm

    Love your post….really makes me think!!! I am getting ready to write down my 20×2 goals before 25×2!!! I guess I should think about where I am now, and where I want to be!! You should be VERY proud of where you are!!!

    • July 13, 2011 7:54 pm

      Thanks, friend. I had a moment today where I was like, “you know what? I’m doing ok.” Just wanted to document that before I start freaking out again ; )

  2. July 14, 2011 10:00 am

    I love this post (and Caitlin’s). I definitely have the tendency to get very ahead of myself and the present moment and think about how “good things will be in x y and z years.” Especially because there are some major changes going on in my life! I think that’s why I love yoga so much, because it really focuses on the present moment and connecting to that.

    • July 14, 2011 10:53 am

      I’m (clearly) the same way too, Erin. It’s something that I’ve been trying to work on the last couple of months—I’m known for getting so far ahead of myself that I can’t even enjoy what I have going right now. The last thing I want is to look back in ten years and wish I had just enjoyed myself and stopped fretting so much! Thanks for sharing : )

  3. July 22, 2011 12:29 pm

    Great post! I too have to constantly remind myself to step back and live NOW. So much of what I do everyday is in preparation for what I want in the future (law school). It’s great to just put that aside and so something just for fun, for now. I guess that’s where my indulgences come in and my idea of enjoying things as a morsel.

    • July 22, 2011 12:59 pm

      Sometimes it is hard to forget about what’s coming next, but I have realized how much more fun I have when I occasionally let myself just enjoy what I have going right now. I don’t do it often, but when I do, it feels great!

Leave a Reply

