Skip to content

D’ough!

July 15, 2011

I know this blog is called Go With the Dough, and I know that should either mean that:

A. I have great skill working with dough

or

B. I’m willing to work with dough that is uncooperative

but I have to admit: I am a consistent pizza dough failure.

I have tried a ton of different recipes: whole wheat, half whole wheat, regular. For some reason, all of my end products have barely risen, and I end up getting more of a flatbread effect when I bake them, rather than the doughy, chewy pizza crust that I’m aiming for.I don’t know if my water isn’t warm enough when I’m dissolving the yeast, or if I’m not letting it rest for long enough in a warm enough spot. All I know is that, with each attempt, I get a little more frustrated.

The doughs I end up with are tasty, but their texture is off and, let’s get real, dough is ALL about texture.

Sigh.

My sense of failure didn’t stop Nick and me from using my latest batch of pizza dough for our dinner tonight (this time the dough was made from a half whole wheat recipe I borrowed from Sabrina). With the right toppings, my failure didn’t seem so bad; in fact, it tasted delicious.

We topped my flatbread-esque dough with:

  • Trader Joe’s Eggplant Garlic spread (obviously)
  • cooked, shredded chicken (seasoned with McCormick Grill Seasoning)
  • sliced plum tomatoes
  • a mix of cheeses (feta, parmesan, mozzarella)

and we baked the pizzas at 450* for about 7 minutes.

Served with some broccoli slaw dressed with some Italian dressing, this dinner made me forget all about my failures.

In fact, it kind of made me feel like a winner.

If failing is wrong, then I don’t want to be right.

Any tips for how to work with pizza dough? I can take all the help I can get!

PS. See that jar of fluff in the background? Yeah. Be on the lookout for something incredible tomorrow. ; )

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 9:21 pm

    First off, I LOVE FLUFF!! Second, what type of yeast are you using? Make sure it isn’t expired, that was one of the issues that I’ve had in the past. Otherwise, I’m not very knowledgeable in the whole art of ‘dough’. It does look SUPER tasty!! Made me hungry, and I already had dinner!! YUM!

    • July 16, 2011 8:56 am

      Haha the only time I’ve ever bought fluff is for this recipe! I never ate it as a kid. Weird, right?

      The yeast is fine, but I think (after some research) the problem is that I’m using regular flour and not bread flour? Maybe?

Leave a Reply

