Skip to content

Vacation Moderation

July 18, 2011

I know some people are huge fans of totally letting go on vacation—they give up their workouts, indulge at every meal, and generally forget about their routine. I will say upfront that I am NOT that person. There are a few reasons for this:

  • I’m too type-A to give up my routine altogether. I know that’s pathetic to admit, but it’s true! I like having my coffee, working out, eating regularly. These things keep me feeling my best, so why give it up?
  • I enjoy working out, especially on vacation. There’s no rush to get somewhere or do something, and I can finally relax and enjoy it instead of thinking about where I need to be or what I need to do.
  • Indulging at every meal makes me feel sluggish and tired. Especially when I’m on a beach/pool-heavy vacation, I like eating right. it makes me feel better in my bathing suit ; )

Luckily, it’s easy for me to stay on track here. My grandmother’s building has a small (but convenient) gym with some free weights, two treadmills, and an elliptical. This morning, I was the only one in there, so I turned on the TV (to the Sex and the City movie! Winner!), ran a nice, easy three miles on the treadmill, followed by fifteen minutes of intervals on the elliptical and a few minutes of free weights. Quick, easy, effective!

I also took a nice leisurely walk on the beach after dinner. It is incredible how much harder it is to walk on sand instead of pavement (and how much more enjoyable it is to stroll along the water instead of my neighborhood!).

Food has been pretty easy to stay on track with, too. Grilled fish, fresh fruit and veggies—those goodies are available everywhere we go, so even if we are eating out every night, I still feel like I’m “staying on track” as much as one can on vacation.

Oh, and don’t think I’m not indulging at all while I’m here. When my grandmother suggests frozen yogurt for dessert every night, you know there’s no way I’m turning that down ; )

When you go on vacation, do you tend to stay on track, or do you happily leave your routine at home?

For me, it depends on the situation. Down here, I feel ok about keeping up with my routine as much as possible. However, drop me in Florence or Paris, and I would happily give up any shred of healthy living standards to indulge to my heart’s (and stomach’s) desire!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. L Dogs permalink
    July 18, 2011 9:54 pm

    All I will say is that I gained 3 pounds last week on vacation and I have no regrets at all. I took a week off from working out and totally enjoyed the excellent Italian food and delicious fresh seafood that little Rhody has to offer (along with Brickley’s Homemade Ice Cream and Pastiche’s desserts).

    • July 19, 2011 8:47 am

      Going home to RI is completely different, too. You better believe I’ll eat as many clamcakes as I can stuff in my face. It’s all about the region. So far, West Palm has very little to offer that I can’t have every day at home. But when I go someplace that has something that’s a rarity and a treat, all bets are off!

  2. July 18, 2011 10:35 pm

    I realized today that straying from my routine makes me MISERABLE!!! I’m suffering right now. I will NOT let that happen when I go on vacation. I may need to read this post once or twice while I’m gone. šŸ™‚

    • July 19, 2011 8:48 am

      Glad I could be of service ; ) Oh, and I’ve officially removed the pedometer. And man, does it feel freeing!

  3. July 19, 2011 10:46 am

    I think I’m okay with straying from my routine somewhat. I like to have a general idea of what I’m doing but can substitute as necessary. However, this whole summer feels like one big un-routine to me! Now that it’s 2 months or so in, I’m definitely craving a regular routine again – and less humidity, please!

    • July 19, 2011 3:31 pm

      I think that’s a great point, Erin. I like straying every now and then, too. It’s fun to shake it up and break away from the norm while you can!

  4. July 19, 2011 11:04 am

    I usually try to stick with my routine…eat right, work out, etc. I feel MUCH better and enjoy myself more when I do this. I try to give myself a little wiggle room though…sleep a bit more, eat what I want for one meal (but not too much)…afterall, that’s what vacations are for! When I am in training for an event, like I am now, I try a bit harder to keep my routine going as much as possible

    • July 19, 2011 3:30 pm

      Yeah, I probably should have noted that in my post. I’m not a routine-Nazi on my vacations. In fact, some of my best vacation time is spent enjoying good food or laying out by the pool. I just find it super hard to give up exercising altogether. You’re totally right—that’s exactly what vacations are for!

  5. AllisonP permalink
    July 19, 2011 4:43 pm

    I always pack my workout gear when I go away! It’s kind of hard to make excuses for not working out when the gym is just an elevator ride away…

    Speaking of travel, I’m headed to the beach this weekend too! Thought a good blog post idea might be on eating well while traveling, especially when you’re without access to refrigeration (for the plane, for the car, for the beach…) Unfortunately last week at LAX, my Greek yogurt was confiscated by TSA under the 3-ounce liquid rule – though I think the agent was just hungry…

    • July 19, 2011 9:05 pm

      Haha—and apparently he/she needed an extra boost of lean protein.

      I think that’s an excellent post idea, Allison! I already have some ideas in mind (because I always, always have food at the ready. It’s kind of absurd, actually), but I’ll gather some more and post them ASAP! Thanks for inspiring my next request post ; ) And have a great time at the beach!

  6. July 24, 2011 8:17 am

    You are my hero…I brought three sets of workout clothes to NY with me and they didn’t leave my suitcase until I got home. I am going to try to find a yoga studio when we go to OBX though. Does that count for anything?

    • July 24, 2011 8:29 am

      Yeah, the difference is that you have TWINS. I think chasing around after them trumps my workouts with Jillian! And yes, yoga at the beach absolutely counts : )

Trackbacks

  1. Vacation Observations « Go With the Dough
  2. Vacation Observations Part Tres « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

