Skip to content

Vacation Observations

July 19, 2011

This recipe has no baked goods, no recipes, no new workouts, no pictures even (yes, I feel weird dowloading food pictures onto my grandma’s computer. Wouldn’t you?)

What this post DOES have is some random musings I’ve had today. Just as good as S’mores Bars, right? Right! So let’s go:

  • When your biggest decision of the day is whether to sit out by the pool or the beach, you can chalk that up as a good day.
  • The novel Game of Thrones is just as good as the show. I’m so glad I watched the first season so I could be inspired to pick up the book. I’m already looking forward to devouring the entire series.
  • Working out is way more fun when you have an entire (albeit, smaller) gym to yourself. With free reign of the TV! (Real Housewives of NYC reruns = the best running entertainment ever).
  • Vacation moderation is important. So is eating ice cream/frozen yogurt for dessert every night.
  • Speaking of frozen yogurt, Florida has WAY better yogurt shops than Maryland. Cake batter? Red velvet? Cheesecake pieces and Godiva syrups for toppings? C’mon, Maryland. Catch the hell up.
  • I cannot sit out in the sun for even half the time that I used to. Not only do I burn, but I feel drowsy and sick after awhile. Sure it’s July in Florida, so that might have something to do with it, but I could only sit in the sun for under two hours today before retreating to the shade. Much better! (And probably much better for me).
  • I belong at the beach. It’s in my blood. Being here, steps away from the ocean, makes me miss Rhode Island something fierce.
  • I brought my Jillian Michaels DVD with me on my vacation. I’m planning on completing the workout at least twice before I leave. All signs point to me being a masochist.
  • I only have one bathing suit. Yes, it took me until this vacation to realize this. I’m also totally ok with it.
  • I prefer a 95 degree day with suffocating humidity over a 25 degree day with snow any day of the week. No contest. My hair, on the other hand, is not so keen.

Where’s your favorite place to vacation?

I’m a huge fan of any place warm, where my biggest responsibility is eventually going swimming ; )

PS–Reader’s request post coming soon on eating healthy while traveling. Any other travel requests out there? I’m more than happy to oblige!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison permalink
    July 19, 2011 10:09 pm

    Rhode Island misses you something fierce too!!!

  2. July 20, 2011 12:53 pm

    I love the beach and anywhere where I can lay out in the sun and read a book with the ocean sound in the background. That’s ideal. I’m also happy if I could at least just get to the pool and lay out…I just love the sun! I am NOT a fan of humidity though, but apparently I can stand it much more than my friends…they were on the beach for 1 hour and were ready to go in…I, on the other hand was sound asleep and loving it!
    1 bathing suit…good for you, I have a bathing suit obsession…every year I get at least 1 new ones…so far this year I have been good 🙂

    • July 20, 2011 1:44 pm

      The beach is and forever will be my ideal destination. I grew up there, so I can’t ever let it go!

      And I don’t know that the one bathing suit thing is good or not. I’m VERY picky when it comes to bathing suits, and this one fits me perfectly. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right?!

  3. July 20, 2011 4:01 pm

    I love the beach but also get sick-feeling when I sit in the sun too long. Wonder why! Anyway, it just means I go inside and take iced tea breaks 😀

  4. July 20, 2011 11:19 pm

    I want the mountains AND the beach!!! I love the beauty of mountain ranges and the hiking and everything that goes along with mountains….but I can NEVER pass up a beach with white sands and emerald water. Living in the Destin, FL area TRULY spoiled me in regards to beaches!!! I’ve had one bathing suit for….TOO LONG….it must be good quality (Land’s End) because it has definitely had some busy seasons! About to put it to use AGAIN!!

    • July 22, 2011 12:58 pm

      AH! I forgot you’re leaving soon! Enjoy the trip, and get lots of use out of that bathing suit ; )

  5. July 24, 2011 11:27 am

    Cape May, NJ!!! Even though I go there even for non-vacation time or I am there so often it isn’t like a resort type place…. Every time I drive over the bridge into the town I feel to myself, wow I am on vacation!

  6. Nick permalink
    July 24, 2011 3:19 pm

    game of thrones for the win!!!

Leave a Reply

