Skip to content

Backyard Farmer’s Market

July 24, 2011

I talked a big talk about “staying on track” while I was on vacation, but don’t be fooled. There was still plenty of this:

Yes. That is a cookie the size of my face. Don’t believe me?

Bam. (Try not to be too distracted by my ‘fro. Florida humidity does not agree with these curls, friends).

Anyway, when I got home yesterday, I was looking forward to returning to “normal” (ie. giving up cookies the size of my face in favor of lighter fare). Even better was the invitation from my landlords to raid the backyard garden. It finally started sprouting vegetables this week, and I needed no convincing to get out there and start picking.

Corn! In the backyard! Can you believe it?!

I ended up coming in with these beauts:

I immediately knew that I wanted to use some of these guys in my dinner, so I rummaged through my fridge, and ended up making a garden veggie tofu and bulgur stir fry:

I just sauteed the peppers and corn with garlic, wilted some spinach, and mixed with some cooked bulgur and tofu. I stirred in some Trader Joe’s eggplant garlic spread at the end and topped with a little bit of parmesan cheese.

Simple, delicious, and about as fresh as it gets.

The perfect antidote to face-sized cookies, if you ask me.

Anybody else raiding their gardens this week? What are you coming up with?

There are some gorgeous strawberries just starting to pop out back. I can’t wait to get my hands on some!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 11:44 am

    Love the cookie shot! 😉

    I have a little pot overflowing with basil. That bad boy needs to be picked and made into something delish!

    • July 24, 2011 11:45 am

      Haha it was as delicious as it looks, I promise!

      Send some basil to me! It can totally withstand the trip ; )

  2. Nick permalink
    July 24, 2011 3:38 pm

    you mean you didn’t make the payaya minus the seafood like I suggested?! 😉

    • July 24, 2011 7:06 pm

      At first I thought that said papaya, and I was so confused. I think you mean “paella.” 😉

  3. July 25, 2011 4:54 pm

    looks yummy!- i am referring to the tofu dinner AND the cookie! 🙂

  4. July 25, 2011 11:12 pm

    mmm! that tofu looks delicious!!

    and yay for garden veggies!! my mama has a great veggie garden that I am always raiding too!

Leave a Reply

