Skip to content

As Fresh As It Gets

July 27, 2011

It’s official. One of the best things about summer is the sheer abundance of fresh produce. Unfortunately for me, I don’t have my own garden. What is fortunate is that people seem to be more than willing to share their gardens with me. Just as good!

I’m currently in North Carolina visiting Nick, and he’s house-sitting for one of his professors. In her instructions, she insisted that he raid the backyard garden while she is gone.

Um. Yes, please.

We picked this gorgeous eggplant (possibly Japanese?), these perfect tomatoes, and the most fragrant basil I’ve found in a long, long time. We also stopped in the Fresh Market for a fresh, crusty loaf of bread and a ball of mozzarella, and in the end, we came up with these:

Mmmm. Eggplant, tomato, mozzarella, and basil bruschetta. We were going to eat these as sandwiches, but we decided that it would be less messy (and way more European) to eat them open-faced. Good. Decision.

With the leftover veggies on the side as a salad:

this was one of the best (and simplest!) dinners I’ve had in a long, long time.

Oh, Summer. You’re almost too good to be true.

What’s the best summer food you’ve eaten this week?

These tomatoes were out of this world. So ripe. So juicy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 7:34 pm

    I have been making caprese salad all week! Tomatos are so fresh and delicious right now, and I cannot believe I just said that as I never liked tomatos before this year! I guess your palate can change as you try more health conscious foods!!!!

  2. July 28, 2011 9:37 am

    I’m partial to summery pit fruits – peaches and plums have been rocking my world lately!

  3. July 28, 2011 2:44 pm

    SO incredibly jealous! I’m loving hummus and yogurt this summer. Oh! And corn on the cob 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Beat The Heat « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

