Skip to content

Really Simple Lentils

August 1, 2011

I haven’t been able to get the Dogwood’s lentil barley burger out of my head since Nick and I went there for my birthday in June. It was perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked, and perfectly yummy.

Then I was reading this month’s issue of Real Simple and I stumbled upon this recipe for lentil fritters.

source

I just so happened to have a package of Trader Joe’s precooked lentils sitting in my fridge,

so I decided to use the burger and fritters as my inspiration for dinner tonight!

Lentil Burgers:

Ingredients:

1 17 oz. package precooked lentils

1 clove garlic

oregano, cumin, salt, and pepper to taste

about 1/3 C. bread crumbs

Directions:

1. Combine half of the lentils, garlic, and seasonings in a food processor or blender and blend until a paste begins to form.

2. Combine lentil “paste” in a bowl with the remaining whole lentils and bread crumbs, plus extra seasonings if necessary.

3. Form 7-8 patties and cook in a nonstick pan (medium-high heat) for 3-4 minutes or until brown on each side.

These were as delicious as they were easy to make.

I turned my patty into a quesadilla of sorts, heating it up in a tortilla with a little bit of cheddar cheese and hot sauce. Served with a big salad (spinach and red pepper), I think this recipe did justice to The Dogwood and Real Simple ; )

Have you been inspired to cook something based on a favorite restaurant dish lately?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 7:45 am

    Mmm these look incredible. I do sometimes get inspired to try a new twist on dishes I’m loving but I haven’t done it in a while because all I’m craving this summer is no-cook foods!

  2. August 2, 2011 11:39 am

    I really need to start shopping at Trader Joe’s. Period.

    And these look DELICIOUS. I love lentils 🙂

  3. Stephanie C. permalink
    August 2, 2011 12:38 pm

    These look delicious. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

