Skip to content

Totally Tropical

August 2, 2011

It’s summer, and when you’re a teacher, summer = vacation.

In my mind, all vacations should =

source

Unfortunately, unless I’m planning on being the next Bachelorette, I don’t think there’s much hope of me flying of to Fiji anytime soon. Snap.

Maryland might be far from tropical, but this morning I experimented with a smoothie that made me feel like I should be lounging under that palm tree:

Tropical Cheesecake Smoothie

Ingredients:

1/2 C. mixed tropical fruit (I got this bag at Target the other day—it has peaches, pineapples, strawberries, melon, and grapes in it, but I bet mango would be delicious, too!)

1/2 C. nonfat cottage cheese

splash of milk, drizzle of honey or agave

Directions:

  • Toss ingredients in blender.
  • Blend.
  • Devour (preferably while soaking your feet in the ocean. Or you know, while sitting on the couch reading blogs).

I’ve never used this combination of fruits in a smoothie, nor have I ever used cottage cheese as my “base.” Who knew that I was missing the most delicious combination ever?

The fruits tasted so bright and fresh (must’ve been the pineapple?!), and the cottage cheese made the smoothie so rich and thick—it was like eating a giant, delicious bowl of tropical ice cream.

And since I have no intention of becoming the next Ashley, I have to take all the tropical substitutions that I can get.

What’s your best smoothie combo?

They’re all I’ve wanted to eat for weeks (months?!), so I’ll take all the new combos I can get.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. The Teenage Taste permalink
    August 2, 2011 8:42 pm

    Mmmmm! That smoothie looks fabulous! I never thought of adding frozen grapes to a smoothie, but I bet it’s delicious. Good thing I just bought a pound of grapes at the grocery store the other day. Into the freezer they go! 😛

    • August 2, 2011 8:59 pm

      I thought it was going it make it watery, but quite the opposite! The cottage cheese made it super thick and creamy. It was heaven : )

  2. Casey permalink
    August 2, 2011 9:48 pm

    Mmm. 🙂 I’m weird, but I make the same combo every day–just frozen fruit, oats, spinach, cocoa powder and PB. Never really have the desire to try anything else!

    • August 3, 2011 9:10 am

      I usually roll with berries, yogurt, cocoa powder and banana, but I decided to switch it up. Glad I did!

  3. August 3, 2011 4:38 pm

    I haven’t watched the Bachelorette finale yet….I am hoping to watch it tonight!!!!

    My favorite smoothie (although I haven’t made one in over a year….) is strawberries, peaches, blueberries, non-fat plain yogurt, ice, and a little spinach 🙂

    • August 3, 2011 4:57 pm

      I always say I’m not going to watch the finale…and I always watch the entire thing. You won’t be disappointed!

      That smoothie combo sounds awesome. I need more peaches in my smoothies!

Leave a Reply

