Skip to content

Better Than A Barista

August 3, 2011

Besides ice cream, iced coffee is my favorite summer “treat.” I’m one of those crazy people who looks forward to the first warm spring day not only because it signals the end of winter, but because it means iced coffee season has begun.

I don’t treat myself to iced coffees that often (maybe once a week at most) because I hate paying $2 a pop when I know I can make it for a fraction of the price at home. (Kind of like when Tommy Lee announced on that episode of MTV Cribs that he had installed a Starbucks in his house…except the exact opposite).

The only thing that’s been stopping me from making my own iced coffee is the lack of a pitcher to store it in. (Lame). So on a trip to Target the other day, I picked up this beauty for under $5

and immediately got to making a batch of homemade iced coffee. It could not have been easier:

  • Brew 5 tbsp coffee with 10 cups water.

  • Let cool for at least 30 minutes before pouring in pitcher.

  • Place pitcher of coffee in fridge.
  • Once fully chilled, pour a tall glass of coffee and mix with ice, skim milk, and stevia.

  • Demolish said glass of coffee in less than five minutes.

Simple, cheap, delicious. And I didn’t even need to shell out the money for my own barista! Why have I not been doing this all along?

Anybody else an iced coffee junkie like me? Do you make it yourself or shell out the cash?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. L Dogs permalink
    August 3, 2011 6:33 pm

    TIP…People at DD have told me that the iced coffee is more expensive than the hot coffee because they make it twice as strong. It needs to be stronger due to the ice watering it down. I highly recommend buying a bag of the French Vanilla coffee at DD to use for your iced coffee.

    • August 3, 2011 6:59 pm

      Yeah, I’ve heard that, too. I didn’t make mine twice as strong, and it still came out good! I do want to start making ice cubes out of coffee though—it solves the “water down” effect for a lot less trouble/money!

  2. August 3, 2011 8:50 pm

    Double brewing definitely works well. I brew it at home all the time and use the starbucks method from my years of barista training. I like to use espresso beans vs regular coffee beans for the rich flavor, and I especially like the Lavazza brand, so for 10 cups of coffee I use about 10 scoops of coffee (same ratio as if it were hot coffee) but I will do 5 cups of water, and then fill up the coffee pot with ice and brew it right into there. This way it’s pretty chilled already so you can drink it sooner.

    • August 3, 2011 8:59 pm

      That is BRILLIANT, Emily. I’ll have to try that next time! Maybe I’m not better than a barista ; )

  3. August 5, 2011 6:50 am

    Can I tell you that I’ve never considered keeping a jug of it in the fridge? I make it glass by glass like a chump! Maybe I shouldn’t do that though b/c I’d be hitting it up every 12 seconds and then I’d never sleep…

    I don’t pay for it very often, but when I do, it’s a frappucino…coconut mocha, please.

  4. caroleena permalink
    August 5, 2011 9:52 pm

    add a little frangelico for a hint of something special 😀

    your blog is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

