Skip to content

She’s a Mono-eater

August 4, 2011

It’s time for me to make a confession:

My name is Hillary, and I am a mono-eater.

No, not a man-eater. A mono-eater. And apparently, beyond just being stuck in a food rut, mono-eating can be detrimental to my health.

source

From what I gather, mono-eating is when a person eats the same foods every day. Some people believe that mono-eating can actually be GOOD for you because it’s easier on your digestive system, but the more popular belief is that mono-eating (even if you’re eating healthy foods, like fruits, vegetables, and lean proteins) limits the nutrients you’re taking in.

I mono-eat for a couple of reasons:

  • I’m a lazy food shopper. Unless I’m going to Trader Joe’s (where I could spend hours just browsing), I want to be in and out of the grocery store as quickly as possible. The most efficient way to do this is to just buy the things that I always buy. I know where they are, I know how much they cost, and I know what to make with them. Convenience trumps variety 99% of the time.
  • I only have myself to worry about. Unless Nick is in town, I’m only cooking for myself; I usually make one big meal for dinner on Sunday or Monday and eat the leftovers for the rest of the week. Sometimes I’ll even eat the same thing for lunch and dinner, just because I don’t want to waste food.
  • I tend to eat the same foods until I get completely sick of them. This is especially true of breakfasts and snacks—I’ll eat an apple every afternoon for a snack, for example, until the thought of apples makes me sick. This is a trend I’ve followed for years now. It’s a hard habit to break!

It occurred to me the other day that my mono-eating habits can actually be very easy to break. Gina wrote a little blurb the other day about how simple it is to make swaps for veggies and grains in particular. Instead of buying spinach (which I do every. single. week), I could try kale or collards. Instead of black beans, I can buy a can of kidney beans or chick peas. This would take next to no extra effort on my part (the greens are all in the same section of the grocery store, as are the beans), and I might find something that I like even better than what I’m used to. Who knows?

source

Additionally, even though my doctor never suggested it (because she knows I’m a healthy eater overall), maybe my mono-eating is partly responsible for my low levels of certain vitamins and minerals. The mere possibility of that is pushing to me branch out and try some new, healthy substitutes for things I already enjoy.

I guess this means I need to lay off my favorite smoothie, huh? Considering I’ve eaten it nearly every day for the last two months, I suppose it’s time. Mono-eater, indeed.

Anybody else a member of Mono-eaters Anonymous, or am I the only one guilty of this?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 1:33 pm

    ha, i do the same thing. grocery shopping or making my lunch late at night = instant oatmeal for breakfast, peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch with apple….and when I’m feeling creative and do buy a few extra things at the grocery store, I am the only one eating it usually so I eat the same thing for an entire week in order to not let anything go to waste….

  2. August 4, 2011 1:37 pm

    I try to switch it up as much as possible…there are some staples like chia seeds, flax and almond milk that I have almost every day, but thankfully the blog keeps me hoppin’ on trying new things!

  3. August 4, 2011 2:48 pm

    I definitely do this for breakfast, but I’m pretty good the rest of the day. I’m sure the fact that I’m supposed to provide “variety” for the Crazies has something to do with that. I also think the CSA has a lot to do with it too…I gotta eat those weird greens and they’re usually AWESOME!

    • August 4, 2011 3:33 pm

      That’s actually a fantastic point, Rebecca. A CSA share would force me to try new things. Yet another reason that I need to get one!

  4. The Teenage Taste permalink
    August 4, 2011 3:56 pm

    I have the exact opposite problem. I hardly ever eat the same meal two days in a row and am always picking up new ingredients from the grocery store. Yesterday I actually made it a goal to clean out my fridge and pantry!

    • August 4, 2011 4:00 pm

      I need to take a clue from your style! Maybe when I get back from vacation, I’ll actually commit myself to trying new things!

Trackbacks

  1. Smoothied Out « Go With the Dough
  2. Secret Snacking Behavior « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

