Skip to content

Vacation Observations Part Tres

August 10, 2011
tags:

My tour of the Northeast (from Boston to Connecticut to New York to Rhode Island) is coming to a close tomorrow, and with that, the end of my summer travels. This trip has had me on overload with good food and good people (hence the very sporadic posting). Here’s a brief overview and some observations of the last week:

  • I attended my first Bachelorette party this weekend (at Lucky Cheng’s in NYC). I took at least a hundred pictures, none of which are even mildly appropriate to share with anyone. Ever. It was that good.
  • I talk a really big game about staying “on track” while on vacation. All of that moderation flies out of the window when I come home and am face to face with foods I simply cannot get anywhere else (and since I only travel home about once a year now, I soak up every meal I can get here).
  • Exercise is a lot more fun when you switch it up. Walks on the beach, light runs in new neighborhoods: just enough to keep me energized, not enough to feel bored or exhausted.
  • Sometimes I’m overwhelmed by the memories that come with eating certain foods. Prime examples:

Ice cream from Brickley’s (where my college roommates and I treated ourselves at least three times a week).

Freaky fajita burger and sweet potato fries and The Contender pizza from Crazy Burger. The exact meal that Nick and I shared on our first real date. And our first Valentine’s Day. And pretty much every trip to Crazy Burger thereafter. Clearly, the tiny hole in the wall holds a special place in our relationship. And while Nick couldn’t be here to share the meal with me, I was lucky enough to have one of my college roommates (and best friends), N, along for the ride:

Excited!

  • Last, but absolutely not least, spending time with your best friends is really all you need for a successful vacation:

See you from Maryland, kids!

What’s your most recent vacation observation?

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 8:31 pm

    Hi there! Just found your blog and wanted to stop in and say hello! Have a great evening!

  2. August 10, 2011 9:26 pm

    I think regarding your comment about eating going out the window while on vacation I have observed the same thinking in myself. When I am in Cape May with my parents or even by myself, I splurge and have a soda. Or I go out and get ice cream. But you know what I observed; it’s ok. If we eat great 80% of the time and eat what we want 20% of the time we will be a lot healthier and happier then if we feel guilty about one thing we think we “should” not be eating. If we constantly get upset with ourselves and put ourselves down for eating “out of control” well then there is no fun in anything we eat. Enjoy the time you have away and eat want you want and where your memories take you! You sound like you are having a great time and getting in fun and different workouts anyway, so what is the point of stressing yourself out over your intake. I observe that I have a much better time of it when I feel myself eating something I usually wouldn’t and just say “well, I’m on vacation!” I even have gotten in the habit of saying that to others who look at me and say, “oh look at salad girl eating that ice cream sundae!” I say, “well mom, I’m on vacation!” with a huge smile and toothy grin and not an ounce of guilt!

    Sort of the same holds true with sitting on the beach. I observe myself starting to feel guilty for doing “nothing” and then I think to myself this is your relaxation time. This is your time to rejuvenate yourself so you can work hard when you need to function and work. Take the time to just sit. So now I observe myself enjoying my nothing time that much more!

    Thanks for the post. Good thoughts to ponder! Have fun on your trip!!

    • August 11, 2011 11:40 am

      I’m leaving today, and my pants are a little tighter than when I left. Guess what? I couldn’t be less concerned!

  3. The Teenage Taste permalink
    August 11, 2011 11:48 am

    Glad you are just “going with the flow/dough” on vacation. I’m all about allowing yourself treats from time-to-time, so why not take advantage of it while on vacation? Live it up! šŸ™‚

    PS – That pizza looks dangerously good! I would have demolished it! šŸ˜›

    • August 11, 2011 1:02 pm

      The Contender pizza is not one to be messed with. I think I actually might have to recreate it at home!

  4. August 11, 2011 2:50 pm

    Oooo, Crazy Burger!!! So good. I’d never been until Doug took me over the winter. Totally blew my mind. And even better in the winter when there wasn’t a 2 hour wait! Glad you’re enjoying home so much šŸ™‚

    • August 11, 2011 7:34 pm

      Crazy Burger will forever have a place in my heart…and stomach ; ) Just got back to MD today, but so enjoyed my time back home. Go out at eat some clamcakes for me. I didn’t get any while I was there!

  5. Nick permalink
    August 17, 2011 7:47 pm

    Poundies! Why not me?!

Trackbacks

  1. Back in the Kitchen « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

