Skip to content

Back in the Kitchen

August 11, 2011

When I’m away from home for long periods of time, there are some basic things that I eventually start to miss:

  • my bed (doesn’t everyone?)
  • my closet (or, rather, the luxury of not living out of a suitcase)
  • my car (yes, I get sick of people driving my sorry a$$ around pretty quickly)

and, last but not least:

  • my kitchen

Don’t get me wrong. I ate some incredible food on this last vacation (what’s up, Freaky Fajita Burger?) But like anyone else, I start getting sick of constantly eating at restaurants pretty quickly (as does my wallet), and by the time I get home, I just want to get back in the kitchen and make myself some food.

So get back in the kitchen and make myself some food I did:

Full disclosure: This meal, thrown together only with finds from Trader Joe’s (because, as we all know, I am a Trader Joe’s ho—and proud of it), took about as much effort as ordering takeout.

Nick seasoned the cod with salt, pepper, and a little oregano and then threw it in a 350* oven for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, I sauteed this incredibly tasty eggplant and zucchini melange until it was heated through and the cheese was melted. Just before the fish was done cooking, we coated it with some TJ’s eggplant garlic spread and put it back in the oven for another 2 minutes. Fifteen minutes after we started, we sat down to this:

Simple. Cheap. Filling. Delicious. The perfect meal to welcome me back into the kitchen.

It’s good to be home.

Anyone else miss the simple things while they’re away? Like their coffee pot? Or am I the only crazy?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 9:37 pm

    Whenever I take a long weekend away, I just miss my own kitchen! I hate asking my hosts for special meals, but I wish I had perpetual access to chia seeds, soy yogurt, Daiya and all of my other crazy-lady foods!

    • August 11, 2011 9:53 pm

      When one of my friends suggested we go to Whole Foods yesterday, I jumped at the chance to just get a couple of my “normal” foods. I then realized how weird that is haha!

  2. August 11, 2011 9:41 pm

    I know exactly what you mean about getting tired of eating out at restaurants when you’re away!

  3. August 12, 2011 10:35 am

    I definitely miss cooking for myself after being on vacation. And my shower! Even though I love traveling, there’s nothing like being surrounded by your own stuff. So glad you had a good trip!

    And that eggplant melange! I am putting that on the list.

    • August 12, 2011 12:44 pm

      I definitely miss my shower and bathroom! I love being surrounded by my toiletries. How weird is that? And I highly recommend the eggplant! It was so cheesy!

  4. August 12, 2011 5:43 pm

    omg, that zucchini mix is SOOO good! I miss my coffee pot (I have the Kerig that makes one cup at a time), my bed of course, and my car and the freedom to come and go as I please

    • August 12, 2011 5:47 pm

      May I just say that I’m jealous of your Keurig?

      • August 15, 2011 2:26 pm

        It’s pretty awesome….Christmas gift 🙂 Start putting the suggestion out there, ha.

      • August 15, 2011 3:10 pm

        My dad’s girlfriend is really throwing the hints out there for me. It’s fabulous!

  5. August 13, 2011 7:45 am

    You are not the only one…I missed my Keurig so much while I was in NY that we actually brought it down here to OBX this time! That’s a serious addiction…or love.

  6. August 13, 2011 10:59 am

    Yum whole wheat naan is the best!

Trackbacks

  1. Back to Baking « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

