Skip to content

Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

August 18, 2011

Confession: Sometimes I bake just so I can sneak a spoonful (or seven) of raw dough or batter. Forget the finished product; I will take the raw stuff any day of the week. Yes, I know there’s that whole “possible exposure so salmonella” issue to be concerned about, but it’s never stopped me before.

Today I didn’t want to bake cookies; I wanted dough. No finished product, just dough. I could have just whipped up my favorite cookie dough batter and eaten it from the bowl, but I figured that if I really wanted just dough, then I should go ahead and make some.

Clearly, I am not the only person out there who prefers raw cookie dough over an actual baked cookie. There are a ton of recipes for edible cookie dough online (and, of course, there’s Mama Pea’s famous cookie dough balls), but I wanted to get creative and make my own recipe this time. Plus, I had a major hankering for oatmeal raisin cookie dough in particular, and I couldn’t find anything close to what I knew I wanted. So I headed into the kitchen, rummaged around, and came up with these:

Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

(makes about 12-15 dough balls)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C. whole wheat flour (or WW pastry flour)
  • 1/2 C. oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 C. Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 C. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3-4 tbsp milk
  • 1/4 C. raisins (optional)
  • 1/4 C. chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

  • Combine flour, oats, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a medium bowl.
  • Whisk yogurt, sugar, and vanilla in separate bowl until fully incorporated. Stir in milk.
  • Gradually combine dry ingredients with wet, then fold in chocolate chips and raisins.
  • Scoop out dough in 1/2 tbsp increments and roll into balls. Freeze or refrigerate to set, then enjoy!

Yeah. These were awesome. So awesome that I might never make real cookies again.

Why bother when I can just eat this straight from the bowl?

Ok. So I’m totally lying. Of course I’ll make real cookies again.

And I’ll totally risk getting sick by eating my fair share of raw dough.

But for right now, I’ll happily eat these without a salmonella-care in the world!

Pssst—Want another cookie recipe? How about cookies with bacon in them? Yeah, I thought so. Go ahead: check out Holly’s blog (one of my absolute favorites) and read my guest post!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 9:47 pm

    I am so the same way with the dough loving. Beats the crap out of the cooked product!

    • August 18, 2011 10:38 pm

      But WHY is it so much better? I still can’t figure it out. Texture? Whatever it is, I’ll be in love with it forever.

  2. Rick permalink
    November 23, 2011 11:32 pm

    I made these and found them to be way to seasoned with nutmeg. Sorry but thumbs down.

    • November 24, 2011 8:01 am

      Sorry you didn’t like them, Rick. I’ve mentioned it in other posts, but I tend to like to go heavy on spices, both in my baking and my cooking. Usually when I’m using a recipe while baking, I use the measurements for spices as merely guidelines; I start little and add more to taste. Again, I’m sorry you were disappointed with the outcome; I hope you’ll try them again with spice measurements more to your liking!

Trackbacks

  1. Cookie Within a Cookie « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

