Skip to content

Pop!

August 20, 2011

I’ve been on an ice cream binge lately.

(It’s August, people. Ice cream binges are to be expected at this point).

I was *thisclose* to buying a pint of Ben and Jerry’s at Target (did you know they now make a tiramisu flavor? I literally had to pull myself away from the carton), but I decided to spare myself the cost (and the calories) and make something I’ve been meaning to try for awhile:

Homemade Smoothie Pops

There are a LOT of recipes out there for homemade smoothie pops—I found ones for mocha, banana, berry, chocolate, ones made with pudding, milk, and yogurt, with sugar and without sugar. It was kind of overwhelming to figure out which combo/method would work best, so I decided to just wing it in the end.

Good. Decision.

Chocolate BananaBerry Smoothie Pops:

(makes four pops)

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1/2 C. frozen berries (any kind would work; I used a mixed berry combo)
  • 1/4 C. skim milk
  • 1/2 C. Greek yogurt (I used 2%)
  • 1 packet Stevia
  • 1.5 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3-4 tbsp chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients except chocolate chips into a blender and blend well.
  • Stir chocolate chips into smoothie mix.
  • Pour mix into popsicle molds and freeze.

So these obviously aren’t on the same level as Oatmeal Cookie Chunk or Coffee Heath Bar Crunch. (Oh, be still my heart). But at 88 calories a pop (yep, pun intended), these did a surprisingly good job of satisfying my constant ice cream craving without ruining an entire day’s worth of healthy eating/exercise. I love me a good compromise!

What’s your favorite Ben and Jerry’s flavor?

I don’t even know where to begin. Coffee Heath Bar, Phish Food, Oatmeal Cookie, Mud Pie…I’m obviously not picky!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 4:08 pm

    I love love love cookies n cream! Yum!

  2. The Teenage Taste permalink
    August 20, 2011 5:25 pm

    Ben & Jerry’s ice cream has no chance against me! I am the ice cream monster! 😛

Leave a Reply

