Skip to content

Social Media Musings

August 24, 2011
tags:

Life is officially getting busy again, friends. And so, today I’m relying on some social media nuggets that I found interesting to stand in for a good recipe (had dinner out with Funk and L-Dogs) or innovative exercise routine (25 minutes on the stair master, 25 minutes on the elliptical, and 20 minutes of free weights is good, but certainly nothing to write home—or blog—about in detail). These are things that I found to be thought-provoking, relevant, and a wee bit controversial. They definitely got me thinking!

source

Social Media Nugget #1:

One of my Facebook friends posted this as her status today:

Question of the day – If an obviously overweight person tells me that they think I am “too skinny,” can I respectfully respond by telling that person that they need to lose a few pounds for health reasons? I feel like in today’s society, it is acceptable to criticize thin people, but if you tell a fat person that they are fat, they get offended and you are judged as being rude/mean. Double standard? I invite everyone of all sizes to “weigh in” on this issue.

This is something I’ve discussed in depth with a lot of people. First of all, I’m not sure how I feel about commenting on other people’s physical features in general (Kailey has posted several times about how random people will comment on her height; on the flip side, I have often had people comment on the obvious fact that I am short. Yes, I am short. Thank you for pointing out the obvious).

I just read something the other day that said the proper etiquette when it comes to commenting on someone’s physical appearance is to say nothing, unless it’s a compliment (and then it’s always welcome). The problem here is that, often times, people will make a comment (“Ohhh, you’re so skinny!” “Wow! You’re disappearing!” etc) thinking that they’re being complimentary, when really, these kinds of comments can just leave the recipient feeling awkward and uncomfortable. I’m still not sure how I feel about this…

Social Media Nugget #2:

Gabriella posted a very interesting commentary today on what constitutes a “healthy food.” I’ll let her words do the talking, but in general the debate revolves around determining what factors are most important when selecting foods. Just because something is vegan, even if it is processed and filled with hydrogenated oils, is it still a “healthier” alternative to something like full fat cheese or milk?

As someone who has started paying a LOT of attention to the foods I eat in the past couple of years, I thought Gabriella’s take on this issue was fresh and from a perspective I haven’t given that much thought to. I will say that a few months ago I was eating quite a bit of processed “faux meats,” but I started to realize that there were so many other proteins that were better for me (and cheaper!).

Anybody else stumble upon a cool social media nugget today? I’d love to see what ya’ll are reading!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 11:47 am

    Who GREAT points here…

    Agreed on both…def. a double standard, but I feel that it is no-go zone to commment on someones physical features, unless it’s a compliment of course.

    As someone who is trying out veganism here and there, it is tough to decide what to focus on…as you mentioned, something can be vegan but high is sodium and processed….it’s hard to cut out everything at once so what is the best way to go? All good questions.

    • August 25, 2011 12:26 pm

      I agree on the food thing—lately, I’ve been trying to focus on the Michael Pollan idea of not eating anything that my great great grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food, or that has ingredients that a fourth grader can’t read. Interesting that some vegetarian and vegan products break those rules!

  2. August 30, 2011 9:50 am

    Unfortunately, you can’t tell someone that they’re less than skinny, but you can discuss being healthy. Whenever I speak to someone who is overweight about weight, I always focus on being healthy and what you’re able to do when you’re healthy. Then I mention my injury and how much more difficult recovery would have been if I weren’t in shape first. I just don’t know if it matters…people will decide when they want to decide and not any sooner. It’s one of the most personal choices out there.

    I also think you can insult someone while calling them skinny…that’s why it’s always safe to concentrate on healthy rather than weight.

    I love the great grandmother idea…that really simplifies the entire process of choosing our foods.

    • August 30, 2011 5:39 pm

      Haha except my dad through this out there last night: “You think your great grandmother knew what tofu was?” Touche, dad. Touche.

      And I agree: it is one of the most personal choices out there. People had been telling me I was overweight for YEARS until I finally stepped up my game and did something. Like anything else, you can’t MAKE someone do it. It’s a whole lifestyle overhaul.

Leave a Reply

