Skip to content

C’mon Irene

August 26, 2011
tags: ,

Hey, did you hear that there’s, like, a hurricane hitting the east coast this weekend?

source

Apparently it’s a pretty big deal. A much bigger deal than I thought it was, until I listened to the news on the way to work this morning. I was under the impression that my weekend was going to be just a bit rainy; the governor of Maryland has already declared a state of emergency.

Hmm.

So, being the responsible adults that we are, Nick and I went shopping in preparation for Irene’s arrival.

(Crappiest visitor ever, if you ask me).

We went to the store and picked up the essentials:

Things like pizza. And tortilla chips. And enough peanut butter to last until the first snowfall.

(Oh, please. Who am I kidding? 40 oz of peanut butter will barely last a week in this house).

Don’t worry. We didn’t only make frivolous purchases. We also bought a huge jug of water. And a 2 liter bottle of Coke Zero.

Hey, if the electricity goes out and I can’t make coffee, we’ll all be glad that I had some caffeine.

Now if you’ll excuse me, Nick and I have two seasons of Mad Men to get through some serious safety precautions to make.

 

How are you preparing for Irene? Anybody else totally clueless when it comes to shopping for hurricane essentials?

Nick and I were just wandering the aisles, picking out things that looked delicious and non-perishable. It seemed like a fair strategy!

 

 

All joking aside, be safe this weekend, everyone!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. The Teenage Taste permalink
    August 27, 2011 1:24 pm

    It’s crazy! First the east coast gets an earthquake and now a hurricane. Hope you are safe! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • August 27, 2011 1:53 pm

      Yeah, it’s been quite the apocalyptic week here on the east coast! We’re safe and sound for now (and there are cookies baking in the oven as we speak) ; )

      Hope you had a great vaca, and made it back safely!

  2. August 28, 2011 9:30 am

    I’m not even sure that we’re going to be affected here. The news keeps changing. Right now, there’s talk of a tropical storm, not a hurricane, starting tomorrow. I’m not sure what that means…I’m just picturing a lot of rain, but maybe it’ll be more serious than that!

    • August 29, 2011 10:59 am

      Sigh. Things were going great here until we lost our power Sunday morning (after the storm blew through!) Hope you’re safe!

  3. August 29, 2011 10:18 am

    ha, i like your hurricane planning strategy. peanut butter and caffeine are deifnitely a good idea in case the power goes out! i also stocked up on candy corn and beer…ha. Thankfully our power didn’t go out, however the beer and candy are almost gone…

  4. August 29, 2011 11:04 am

    Haha – that jar of peanut butter would be demolished in a week in our house as well!

  5. August 29, 2011 11:25 am

    Hope you made it through okay!! And good to know I’m not the only one that’ll go through 40oz of PB like it’s nothing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • August 29, 2011 1:05 pm

      Made it through safe, but still without power over 30 hours later (!!) At least I have that jar of PB to keep me company ; )

  6. August 29, 2011 5:10 pm

    I hope that because you’re commenting on blogs, that you’re okay after Irene!

    Also, your comments about grad school and prioritizing are making me believe that I can totally do that. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re going to be my inspiration!

    • August 29, 2011 6:42 pm

      Haha I’m ok! Still without power after 36 hours, but staying with my dad (and therefore getting access to the internet!)

      You’re going to be great, Erin. It’s something that your passionate about which makes it that much easier. I’m always here to bounce ideas and frustrations off of!

  7. August 31, 2011 7:09 am

    I bought the most ridiculous food items when I went to the store…and some water too.

Trackbacks

  1. Karma « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

