Skip to content

Karma

August 29, 2011
tags:

It’s true what they say about karma.

She (and Hurricane Irene) are biotches.

   source

I guess I had it coming when I mocked Irene’s impending arrival and joked about the possibility of losing power. Because then, at 6 am on Sunday (AFTER the storm had passed through), I lost power. And it’s still not back on. Thirty-six hours later.

On the upside, my dad lives ten minutes away from me, and he has power, so I’ve been crashing here.

Also, my first day of school was canceled. Yes, we had a day off on our “first day.” That’s one for the record books, no?

So I’m safe and sound, just powerless (literally). As soon as I get back into my house, I promise to show you my new favorite sandwich. I’ve eaten it three times in the last three days. You’ll love it, I swear.

 

How’s everyone else faring after this storm? Hope you’re all safe and sound!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 7:59 pm

    I hope you get power back soon!

    My dad and auntie still don’t have power at their houses and National Grid is predicting at least 3 more days until they get it back!

    • August 30, 2011 5:38 pm

      Thanks, Sabrina! Still no power, and they’re saying my neighborhood probably won’t get it back until Friday (we’re on a low priority list right now). But at least I’m safe! Hope your dad and aunt get it back sooner than I do! ; )

  2. August 30, 2011 3:38 pm

    ha, i love this quote! that sucks, funny how things happen that way. thankfully we have power, and many house guests since Saturday who are out of power. My dad was told they would not have power back until Friday!…

    • August 30, 2011 5:40 pm

      Yup! I heard the same thing about my house today. Grrr. Well, at least I’m safe and have somewhere to crash in the meantime! And a dad who enjoys watching Bachelor Pad with me ; )

  3. September 1, 2011 7:35 am

    The thing is, you’re so not a bitch! I want to hear about this sandwich, but I’m hopelessly behind on my Reader…I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

