Skip to content

Stuffed

August 30, 2011

You know how I get on food kicks?

Where I find something I like and then eat it several days in a row?

Where I become all-consumed by one meal for an extended period of time?

Yeah. This sandwich totally falls into this category. And for good reason!

On Saturday, just as Irene was making her arrival into Maryland, I decided that I wanted something new for lunch. I took all the components of a usual meal for me (fruit or veggie, protein, and carbs) and came up with this beauty:

PB&B Stuffed French Toast Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread (I used Martin’s whole wheat potato bread. It is phenomenal).
  • 1-2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 egg
  • splash of milk
  • 1-2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg
  • maple syrup (optional)

Directions:

1. Spread PB evenly on both slices of bread. Top one slice of bread with bananas and then top with other slice of bread.

2. In a shallow bowl, lightly beat the egg, milk, cinnamon and nutmeg.

3. Heat a nonstick skilled over medium-high heat. Dip sandwich into egg mixture on both sides. Transfer to skillet and cook on each side until lightly browned (about 2-3 minutes on each side).

4. Top with syrup if desired.

 

I made this sandwich three times in three days. It was just that good. I kept trying slight variations on it (using Better’n Peanut Butter in place of “regular” PB, adding a spoonful of Trader Joe’s strawberry preserves, topping with Greek yogurt instead of syrup), and it got better every time. Always warm, always flavorful, always extra gooey.

They just banned refrigerators, coffee pots, and microwaves in our classrooms at school, but I wonder if anybody would mind if I bring in a hot plate so I can make this for lunch every day…

 

What’s your favorite french toast stuffing or topping?

I love me some stuffed french toast—especially with Nutella or peanut butter ; )

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 8:09 pm

    Wait, no coffee pots? How are you going to survive!?!?!

    In college, I always looked forward to french toast days so I could cover them in eight pounds of fake cherries in that thick syrup – I still love the flavor but it’s been ages since I had anything other than fresh strawberries and a touch of maple syrup on my french toast!

    • August 30, 2011 8:12 pm

      No joke. We luckily just had to move the pot to our team room down the hall, otherwise we all would’ve been in big trouble (or hooked up to a caffeine IV).

      Ahhh dining hall food. Dontcha miss it?!

  2. caroleena permalink
    August 30, 2011 8:38 pm

    thanks for the idea!! i’m going to make these tonight, we had to through all our refrigerated food away so we’re pretty much left with just these ingredients!

    i’d LOVE to share a recipe i made saturday night- i tried to cook everything in my house before the power went out and it was absolutely delicious! it’s Bulgar Wheat muffins with dates & walnuts. let me know if you want to try it, i’ll send the recipe over!

    • August 31, 2011 5:37 pm

      Um, yes I want this recipe. I have bulgur, and I’ve been meaning to buy dates for baking—so this is perfect! Thanks, Caro!

      • caroleena permalink
        August 31, 2011 10:53 pm

        i didnt know where to leave it, but i thought this looked like a good place πŸ˜‰

        Bulgur Muffins

        1 large egg
        1 cup milk
        3 Tbs. melted butter or oil
        1 1/2 cups flour
        3 Tbsp. sugar (I used only a pinch since i put the dates in)
        4 tsp. baking powder
        1/2 tsp. salt
        3/4 cup COOKED bulgur wheat with soy

        I added about a cup of chopped dates and 1/2 cup walnuts which are both optional. You could also use raisins instead of dates!

        Preheat oven to 400
        Beat egg slightly, stir in milk and melted butter
        Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, salt together
        Combine with egg/butter mixture
        Add Bulgur Wheat and dates, walnuts
        Stir until moistened (i hate that word)
        Fill muffin cups 2/3 full
        Bake 15 minutes

        Caro’s notes: If you want them on the sweeter side, definitely use more than a pinch of sugar. I thought they were great not-too-sweet though. I filled the cups pretty much to the top with batter and they didn’t over-rise! I think because i added so many dates and walnuts, it made enough batter for 13 muffins instead of 12 πŸ™‚ I also baked about 18 minutes because they didn’t brown and I thought they would…but they didnt!

        ENJOY! let me know what you think. i made them before the hurricane and everyone gobbled them up!

      • September 1, 2011 6:52 pm

        Yup. I bought dates at the grocery store today. These are getting made ASAP. Love you—thank you for sharing!!

  3. August 31, 2011 1:22 pm

    These are decadent!! I’m definitely making them on Sunday morning. Yum! But I have to agree, Nutella is an ultimate fave. especially with strawberries. ooooo.

  4. The Teenage Taste permalink
    August 31, 2011 5:09 pm

    Oooooh la la! Stuffed french toast is my favorite!

  5. August 31, 2011 5:55 pm

    I had no idea they made whole wheat potato bread. I love potato bread! I’m going to have to seek that out!

    • August 31, 2011 8:06 pm

      Not sure if Martin’s is only a Maryland (or mid-Atlantic) thing, but their’s is fantastic!

  6. September 1, 2011 6:18 pm

    i made a very similar sandwich but using a brown rice tortilla instead. god it was so delicious. yea i tend to eat the same think over and over when i like it. i go a little crazy sometimes and its hard to break out of it lol

    xoxo ❀

  7. September 2, 2011 7:47 am

    Oh my goodness…you have a sick and twisted mind when it comes to food and I love it.

    Why, exactly, did they ban all of that stuff? What will happen if you do it anyway? These people are ridiculous…the stupidity of few ruins it for all. Ugh…

Leave a Reply

