Skip to content

Rookie Mistake

September 1, 2011

I made a huge rookie mistake today:

I went to the grocery store hungry and without a list (or even a general clue of what I wanted).

This is usually bad for two reasons:

1. I end up buying a ton of stuff I don’t need (and thus waste money and, in the long run, possibly food if the stuff is perishable).

2. I end up buying a ton of stuff that falls under the “treat” category. These impromptu trips to the store are usually the ones that result in a lot of ice cream, cookies, and baking goodies falling into my cart.

I did show a little bit of restraint today, and I managed to make it out of the store with some essentials (eggs, fresh veggies, and flour). I also bypassed the ice cream (I shockingly wasn’t feeling it today), the fig preserves (le sigh), and the Biscoff spread (I only turned this one down because it was $4 a jar. Yeah, no).

But of course a few impulse buys still made it home with me:

Chopped dates. I’ve been meaning to buy these for a while to experiment with in my baking. My friend Carolyn just gave me what seems to be a delicious bulgur and date muffin recipe. I see some muffins in my near future.

Whole wheat pizza dough. Because I’m obsessed with pizza. Do you really need any more explanation than that?

Biscoff cookies. Ok, so I passed up the Biscoff spread, but the cookies were my compromise. I first got hooked on Biscoffs after seeing them appear on Kath’s blog so many times, and I even tried creating my own version of the spice-packed biscuit a few weeks ago (the result was less than stellar, so I didn’t share the recipe). But after finding this recipe last week, I knew I had to get some Biscoffs in my house immediately. Expect these to be made soon.

Frozen shrimp. I always tell myself that I should be eating more fish, and when I saw that these were on sale this week, I grabbed a bag. Shrimp are super low-calorie and high-protein, and I love the fact that they’re frozen (so I can just defrost what I need, when I need it).

For dinner tonight, I combined some of the staples I picked up and one of the impulse buys to create a pretty stellar meal:

A Mediterranean Shrimp Pizza

(aka a FlatOut wrap topped with sauteed spinach and garlic, red bell pepper, baby ‘bella mushrooms, shrimp, and feta cheese)

If dinner is going to be this good after impromptu trips to the store, I should make impulse buys more often.

 

What was your latest impulse grocery purchase?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. caroleena permalink
    September 2, 2011 10:45 am

    im pretty jealous of your pre-chopped dates.

  2. September 2, 2011 10:50 am

    ha, i know the exact feeling! i HAVE to have a list or i will do the same thing. it looks like you made some logical decisions and at least have a plan for most of the items you purchased ๐Ÿ™‚ now i need that biscoff….

    • September 2, 2011 4:46 pm

      Biscoffs might be my newest obsession. I just want to crumble them up and put them on everything!

  3. September 2, 2011 12:18 pm

    It was a busy day… I was starving and did not feel like cooking. I figured that I would be “good” and simply go to the grocery store and buy a roasted chicken. I bought the chicken but also walked out with Ben & Jerry’s “Everything But The”. It happens to all of us! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. September 2, 2011 8:24 pm

    That rules…at least you didn’t break the “shop around the perimeter” rule…

  5. September 2, 2011 8:24 pm

    I used the word “rule” too many times…apologies.

Trackbacks

  1. Yes, You Can « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

