Skip to content

Catharsis

September 5, 2011
tags: ,

One of the hardest things about maintaining a weight loss is dealing with all the goodies that show up at work. Bagels, chocolate, ice cream cake, pie—it feels like we’re celebrating something at least once a week, and even on the days when we’re not celebrating anything, there’s always something delicious around.

Confession: I am often the one contributing these delicious things.

Does this make me a hypocrite? If so, my apologies.

I love to bake (can you tell?) It is cathartic to me, and during the school year, I find I need a lot of catharsis.

And so I bake. And because I live alone, my co-workers get to reap the benefits (at least on the days that Nick isn’t here to demolish an entire batch of baked goods in twenty-four hours).

Sometimes I bake because it’s Friday, and I know my team members have had a long week.

Sometimes I bake because it’s Monday, and I know we have a long week ahead of us.

Sometimes I bake because I just feel like it.

Tonight I baked because I felt like it AND because tomorrow is going to be a long day.

(Back to School Night = being at school from 6:45 am until 9:00 pm).

A fourteen hour day qualifies as a long day in my book. And it calls for something sugary and delicious to keep us on our toes.

Enter these delicious Oatmeal Date Bars. Versatile enough for us to nibble on during our morning meeting, or to carry us through a long evening of meeting parents. These were chewy, dense, and just sweet enough (I cut the sugars by about 1/4).

Cathartic? Yes.

Delicious? Yes.

That fourteen-hour day already seems more bearable, and it hasn’t even started yet.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 7:57 am

    I shouldn’t have left…I think you’re just trying to get those delicious things out of your house so they don’t tempt you too much! Smart girl!

    • September 6, 2011 9:38 pm

      First of all, come back.

      Second of all, I absolutely get rid of them to avoid my own temptation. I bake a LOT and can’t even keep up with myself!

  2. September 6, 2011 1:32 pm

    Ha, i have a love/hate relationship with the “bakers” at work…I LOVE the delicious goodies they bring into work, but I hate that i have no self control and just HAVE to try the things they bring in!!! ol. Keep up the baking, your treats look yummy! Maybe I will try to bake more (maybe some vegan treats…?) Hey, If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!

    • September 6, 2011 9:39 pm

      Most people appreciate it, but I think a few would rather I back off a bit ; ) A little too much temptation every day!

  3. September 6, 2011 11:08 pm

    I so agree with Katie. On one hand you hope for delicious goodies and on the other the temptation always proves too much… Its a fine line 😉

    Date + oatmeal bars would definitely be on the too hard to resist list!

    • September 7, 2011 6:26 pm

      One of my co-workers asked me “how bad those bars are for you.” My response? “They have oatmeal in them.”

      : )

Leave a Reply

