Skip to content

Sauced

September 8, 2011

One of the biggest benefits of growing up in Rhode Island was having access to some of the most delicious Italian food I’ve ever eaten (and yes, I’ve been to Italy). Forget the restaurants (although those are pretty fabulous, too): some of my parents’ oldest and dearest friends are Italian, and they were always happy to pass down their families’ secrets for authentic, home cooked Italian meals.

So when Nick and I decided to make pizza for dinner tonight (shocker), I knew that I wanted to do something I haven’t done in a while: make home made sauce. Disclaimer: from what I’ve seen, heard, and learned firsthand, true home made sauce takes hours to make correctly. I didn’t have hours. I had about 30 minutes.

Enter this speedy (and surprisingly delicious) home made sauce recipe:

Speedy Home Made Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 can whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1/2 small can tomato paste
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • fresh oregano and basil (I didn’t have fresh, so I used dried!)
  • drizzle of extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  • Place peeled tomatoes in a large saucepan. Use hands to “crush” tomatoes into large chunks.
  • Add in rest of ingredients and put saucepan over a medium heat.
  • Let cook at medium heat for about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, and then simmer at low heat for another 10-15 minutes, until flavors come together.

This sauce was the perfect topper for our dinner:

Whole wheat pizza topped with home made sauce, eggplant, red bell pepper, prosciutto, and mozzarella.

I may not live in Rhode Island any more, but dinners like these make me feel like I’m back at home again.

What dinner feels like “home” to you?

Anything Italian reminds me of home: pizza, calzones, ravioli. It’s the food of my childhood—even though I’m not Italian!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 7:15 am

    Eggplant parm is my “home meal.” I made it this weekend and loved it for days after…

Trackbacks

  1. Comforted « Go With the Dough
  2. Party Animals « Go With the Dough
  3. Squashed « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

