Skip to content

Secret Snacking Behavior

September 10, 2011

There’s a Sex and the City episode (my favorite one, actually)  in which Carrie, Samantha, Miranda and Charlotte sit around and discuss their “Secret Single Behaviors,” or, more specifically, the things they all do in the privacy of their own homes without fear of people judging them for their weirdness. (For example, Charlotte checks out her pores in a super-magnified mirror and Miranda lathers lotion onto her hands, puts them in gloves, and watches infomercials). Carrie’s SSB is food related: she stands over her sink, eating saltines while reading fashion magazines.

These past few weeks, I’ve started to realize that I have several SSBs of my own, except my weird behaviors are distinctly food-related. And because this is a very food-heavy blog, I thought I would let ya’ll in on my foodie version of Secret Single Behavior: Secret Snacking Behavior.

  • You already know this, but I am very much a monoeater. I’ll say it once, and I’ll say it a thousand times after that: I can eat the same thing, day after day, for weeks without flinching. Then, out of nowhere, the thought of eating that particular food one more time makes me want to vomit.
  • I’m what Nick calls a “fixin’s-stealer,” meaning I pick the “extra goodies” out or off of a dish, often stealing them from my dining companions. (For example, I will pick all the veggies and extras out of a pasta salad, pick stuff off of a pizza, scoop out all the candies or cookies from a gallon of ice cream, and so on. Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m doing it).
  • I cannot eat plain ice cream. I just can’t do it—the texture isn’t satisfying whatsoever. I need something else in there: candy, jimmies (sprinkles), cookies, nuts, anything, to break it up. A cone of plain ice cream will leave me completely unsatisfied without these things.
  • I prefer to eat my ice cream in a cone, rather than in a bowl with a spoon. I’ve actually read studies that say eating it from a cone is more satisfying (something to do with your tastebuds getting more action), so I feel less like a weirdo for admitting this.
  • I prefer chip crumbs to actual chips.
  • The exception: I prefer folded chips to chip crumbs.
  • I will sprinkle cereal into a jar of peanut butter and call it dessert. I didn’t realize how weird this was until I was staying with my dad after the Hurricane and sat on the couch with a jar of Better ‘N Peanut Butter and he looked at me like I was insane. I got very defensive (haha!)
  • Nick often asks me if I want something to eat, and I’ll say no—-and then I’ll promptly ask for a bite of what he just made.
  • I will take dessert or something sweet over something savory (or alcohol) any day of the week, without question.
  • I need to eat every three to four hours. If I don’t, my blood sugar suddenly drops and I get very weak/cranky. I went car shopping today and it took way longer than I expected. About five hours after I had eaten lunch, I suddenly felt like I was going to keel over. The very nice lady at the car dealership gave me a fun size candy bar—good as new!
  • I didn’t start eating breakfast until my senior year in high school. The thought of eating that early in the morning made me feel ill. Now breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

Now it’s your turn to make me feel less like a huge weirdo: what are some of YOUR Secret Snacking Behaviors? I know I cannot be the only one with these idiosyncracies!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 8:04 am

    I was a late breakfast bloomer too…hated breakfast…can’t tell you the amount of toast my mother found in our front bushes.

    I love anything marinated…I can polish off a jar of pickles or Trader Joe’s marinated garlic mushrooms in one night…it’s gross. Oh, and artichokes? Forget about it.

    I rarely have a desire for sweets, but every now and then I’ll shove a Hershey’s bar down my throat (like I did right after spin on Friday).

    • September 11, 2011 4:45 pm

      Marinated foods, eh?! That’s one I never gave any thought to. I can totally house an entire jar of pickles. Good lord, my list is never ending.

Leave a Reply

