Skip to content

Pie in a Bowl

September 14, 2011

It’s no secret that I love my orange foods. Or smoothies.

So when I saw this recipe on Tina’s blog for a Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie, I nearly fell out of my seat.

That’s a lie. I didn’t fall out of my seat.

I jumped out of my seat and went to buy some sweet potatoes so I could make this as soon as possible.

I used Tina’s basic recipe, but made a few adjustments. My concoction was made with:

  • 1/2 C. mashed sweet potato (cooled)
  • 1/2 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1/2 C. nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • splash of milk
  • small handful of ice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • LOTS of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice

I topped it with some Kashi Go Lean and a dollop of peanut butter (oh, and an unpictured half of a Biscoff cookie) and I called it dinner.

It’s like my two favorite seasons (summer and fall) hooked up and had a love child.

Scandalous.

And delicious.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 12:32 am

    MMM, delicious. I love that you called it a scandal! šŸ˜‰

    I’m a HUGE fan of sweet potatoes, and I never thought of making them into a smoothie. Great idea! I also have a box of Kashi Go Lean calling my name. This love-match will need to be remade in my kitchen!!

  2. September 15, 2011 11:21 am

    yum….hey, there’s a baltimore blogger meetup happening next thursday, you interested? what is your email, i can send you the information!?

    • September 16, 2011 5:14 pm

      Hey! Yes, I’m definitely interested. Nick will be in town that night, but maybe he wouldn’t mind me sneaking away for a little bit. Where are you guys planning on meeting?

  3. September 16, 2011 3:58 pm

    this looks slightly scary to me…but also just delicious enough to give it a shot. thanks for spreading the tater word!!

    • September 16, 2011 5:17 pm

      I swear it’s phenomenal. The sweet potato could pass as pumpkin, and it’s the thickest, creamiest smoothie I’ve ever made (it actually reminded me of a fall-spiced frozen custard!) Be brave, my Everythingtarian friend! You’ll enjoy it ; )

Trackbacks

  1. Butternut Squash Pizza « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

