Skip to content

Season Switch

September 17, 2011

It’s suddenly Fall here in Maryland.

I say “suddenly” because two days ago it was 86 degrees. Now it’s 64.

Talk about a season switch.

So overnight, I had to adjust my entire mentality: about clothes, about food, about everything even remotely season-related.

No more smoothies. Instead, I’m snacking on sweet potatoes like they’re going out of style:

(Half of a sweet potato, steamed in the microwave, then topped with cinnamon and peanut butter. Simple. Delicious).

No more flip flops. Instead, I threw on the pair of Toms I bought last spring and didn’t wear once over the summer:

(So ugly. So comfortable. And yes, I peg-rolled my jeans. Don’t judge).

No more t-shirts and tank tops. Instead, I’m rocking my new argyle sweater from the Banana Republic outlet:

(Oh, argyle. I love you now and always).

No more iced coffee in the afternoons. Instead, I’m making tea and hot chocolate.

source

(And I still need a pumpkin spice latte in my life!)

As much as I miss summer already, there are so many things to look forward to in the coming months: cool nights (am I the only weirdo who loves sleeping under a heaping pile of blankets?), pumpkin-flavored everything, and changing foliage just being a few of them. And now that I’ve eased myself into the season a little bit, the change is that much more welcome.

Bring it, autumn.

What are you most looking forward to this fall?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 12:42 pm

    HA! Your gray Toms!! I finally bought my own pair of grays, Toms envy has been satiated 😉

    MMM, fall. I can’t wait for persimmons and pomegranates, and everything pumpkin. Hot Cocoa with a dallop of freshly whipped cream…
    I love the chilly weather and scarves. How I love wrapping myself in scarves!

    • September 18, 2011 1:47 pm

      As much as I complain about being cold, I can’t deny how much I love wearing jeans, sweaters, and boots. It’s just my thang ; )

  2. Kristin L. permalink
    September 18, 2011 9:05 pm

    Don’t forget your gorgeous curly hair!!

Leave a Reply

