Skip to content

Cake Baking Lessons

September 21, 2011

I made my first ever cake from scratch this weekend.

I realized about a week ago that I had never baked a cake, and the next minute I realized that such a thing makes me a sorry excuse for someone who considers baking a hobby. My friend Jenna’s birthday was last week, so that gave me the perfect excuse to get baking (then again, really, when do I need an excuse?)

I asked Jenna what flavors she would prefer, and she mentioned chocolate and peanut butter.

A cake that tastes like a Reese’s? Done and done.

Here are the lessons I learned while baking my very first cake:

1. Buttercream frosting is not a metaphor. Nor is it a health food. Enough said.

2. Make sure you distribute your batter evenly between your two pans. Otherwise you end up with an odd, mushroom-shaped cake.

3. Use a recipe your first time, to prevent any major disasters. It’s fine to mix and match. Trust recipes by Ina Garten, too. She might be obnoxiously pretentious at times, but lady knows her frosting.

4. There are few things in life more gratifying than people enjoying food you’ve made. Then watching them go back for seconds. Then watching them eat the extra frosting out of the tupperware.

5. Baking a cake from scratch is truly not that much harder than making it from a box. It took me maybe an extra five minutes. This not only makes me feel ashamed for ever using a box mix, but also makes me think that several cakes are in my future. Uh oh.

Any other cake virgins out there? Or just me?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    September 21, 2011 7:58 pm

    I agree with all of the above. Foraging should never be from a can nor cake from a box. They are against my religion! Your cake looks amazing btw!

  2. September 22, 2011 11:11 am

    i have never made a cake from scratch because i figured it was a lot of work…now i know! I’ll have to give it a try sometime in the near future- maybe for the boyfriends birthday mid October! Can you send me the recipe you used? I think the Reeses cake would be perfect for him!

    • September 22, 2011 7:41 pm

      Oh, definitely give it a shot! I used the recipe linked in the post for “Killer Chocolate Cake” and Ina Garten’s frosting. So good!

  3. September 23, 2011 10:24 am

    I’ve actually never baked one from scratch before… I may have to try it out soon. Thanks for the good tips!

  4. September 23, 2011 12:41 pm

    This looks totally delicious!! Ina Garten is awesome, I’ve used her cookbooks for quite a few dinners/occasions and they’re always really good.

  5. September 26, 2011 6:41 am

    I’ve never baked a cake from scratch, but I really should…I make everything else!

Trackbacks

  1. (Low Chub) Pumpkin Date Bread « Go With the Dough
  2. Peanut Butter & Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

