Skip to content

Maid of Honor Lessons

October 2, 2011

I spent this weekend in Connecticut, serving as the Maid of Honor in my best friend’s wedding. It was a weekend that was a lot of fun, a little emotional, and very exhausting. Along the way, I learned these important lessons:

  • You can only be the MOH for your true best friends. My two biggest responsibilities this weekend were helping the bride pee and occasionally checking if she needed to reapply her deodorant. That’s love.
  • Getting my makeup professionally done reminds me how little makeup I wear on a daily basis. Still not sure if this is a good or a bad thing.
  • Double sided tape is clutch when it comes to making a strapless dress stay put.
  • Removing double sided tape is not for sissies. Or people who don’t want red marks all over their chests.
  • Giving a toast in front of one hundred people is scary. Making your best friend cry makes the scary part well worth it.

  • There is no such thing as a bad wedding cake.

  •  Dancing is mandatory. Duh.
  • I need more occasions in my life that involve Nick getting dressed up and the two of us making fools of ourselves on the dance floor.

  • Greasy breakfasts do wonders for your mood when you’re working on very, very little sleep.

  • Watching two people you really love come together as their own little family is one of the best feelings in the world. Being a part of the celebration is just an added bonus.

Any lessons you learned this weekend?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 8:47 pm

    I was a maid of honor a couple of weeks ago so I could totally relate to everything you wrote about here! (And the dress I wore was similiar to yours). 🙂 It sounds like you were a perfect maid of honor. Your friend is fortunate to have you!! 🙂 (And, yes, it is an exhausting experience. Ha, ha).

  2. October 2, 2011 8:51 pm

    Love you so much! Speech was amazing. I think cake was delicious (i had a quarter of a bite, guess I have to wait a year for more!) I wouldn’t have chosen anyone else for my MOH. You were amazing and kept me sane the entire day. Love you bunches. – Nicole –

    • October 2, 2011 8:57 pm

      Love you a ton. Wouldn’t have wanted my first MOH experience to be in anyone else’s wedding ; ) Have fun!!

  3. October 2, 2011 9:45 pm

    You’re such a good friend…and you didn’t even mention the open bar perk!

    Looks like a great time (and holla for double sided tape)!

  4. October 4, 2011 3:37 pm

    Such a great thing to be part of, congrats to your friend, and to you for what sounds like it was a great speech!

    Hm, this weekend I learned…I am definitely getting too old to do the following:
    -Drink too much and go out to bars until 3am
    -Sleep on the floor (my back, ouch)
    -Try to compensate a lack of sleep and a hangover with coffee and sugar, it had the opposite affect!
    -I have some of the best friends in the world!

    (however it was a special occassion for my friends bday so only comes around once a year!)

    • October 4, 2011 3:41 pm

      Thanks, Katie! It was a great time.

      And I hear you on the staying up late and thinking coffee will help. I wasn’t even hungover, but I felt like crap all day Sunday. I think the four cups of coffee only made it worse ; )

  5. October 5, 2011 1:04 pm

    aw I love this. I have been a bridesmaid, but not a MOH yet, probably not until my sister gets married because all of my closest friends have sisters. weddings are fun, but i’m so glad wedding season is over, between me and my bf we went to 6 this summer! and as fun as it can be, it just gets old when you have one every weekend for a whole month! so far only 3 in 2012, so i hope it stays that way 😉

    • October 5, 2011 5:03 pm

      Haha you sound like my brother! I think in the last two years, he’s probably attended nearly 15 weddings. And he has another one this month! This looks like the last wedding on my personal calendar for a while, so I can relax for a bit ; )

Trackbacks

  1. (Low Chub) Pumpkin Date Bread « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

