Skip to content

Squashed

October 5, 2011

Confession: I love me some gourds.

source

Yeah. I said it.

One of the reasons I love fall is that gourds reappear in all their glory. I don’t discriminate, either. I love pumpkin just as much as I love pretty much every squash I can get my hands on (acorn, butternut, spaghetti). I don’t know what it is about these beauties that’s so appealing, but something about them screams comfort food, no matter which way you cut it (or, rather, roast them).

This week, I decided to bring back an old fall staple: the spaghetti squash. If you’re not familiar with spaghetti squash, let me get you acquainted. It is a squash whose flesh, when roasted, turns into spaghetti-like strands. Brilliant, no?

Don’t be fooled. Spaghetti squash doesn’t actually taste like spaghetti. That’s not to say it tastes bad; on the contrary, it’s actually delicious. And, when roasted correctly and thrown into just the right dish, it’s even better.

Here’s my biggest issue with pasta: I need to eat a LOT of it to feel full. Actually, if we’re being honest with each other, I need to eat a lot of EVERYTHING to feel full. I’m one of those people who cares a lot about the visual portion in front of me. Given the choice between a tiny piece of something really fattening or a huge plateful of something healthy, I’ll usually go for whatever I can get on the huge plate (obviously desserts are the exception. Fattening or not, I’m going big).

Since pasta is pretty calorie dense per small serving, I don’t cook it all that often, and when I do cook it, I like to throw in lots of other, healthier ingredients—-not always necessarily so I can reap the health benefits, but really just so I can eat more. (Don’t judge). In a situation like this, a spaghetti squash comes through in the clutch.

Spaghetti (Squash) with Turkey Meat Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash, cut in half and de-seeded.
  • 1 lb. extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp McCormick Grill Seasoning
  • 1/2 jar of your favorite pasta sauce (or make your own).
  • Seasonings of choice (I used basil, oregano, and red pepper)
  • 1 lb whole wheat pasta of choice (I used a mix of bowtie and rotini)

Directions:

  • Roast and prepare the spaghetti squash according to these directions.
  • Season the turkey with the grill seasoning, then brown meat in a medium skillet. Just before meat is fully cooked, toss in your garlic and stir.
  • Pour pasta sauce into skilled with meat and turn heat to low. Season to taste.
  • Prepare pasta according to directions.
  • When pasta is drained, return to empty pasta pot. Toss pasta with sauce and spaghetti squash strands.
  • Top with cheese if desired. Enjoy!

Hearty, filling, and just a little bit healthier than your average bowl of pasta.

Now if only they made a cupcake squash.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    October 6, 2011 12:01 am

    spaghetti squash for me?! 😉 love!

Leave a Reply

